Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Since I’ve moved to Nashville, I’ve been experimenting even more with what I’m eating. My wonderful roommate Kelly has introduced me to the amazing things you can make with JUST vegetables and raw food. We’ve been playing in the kitchen a lot, especially when it comes to sweets.

Now, if you know me at all, you know I love pizza. It’s kind of my downfall. I would do almost anything for a slice of pizza. So here’s my healthy alternative: Cauliflower Pizza Crust!

While this “pizza” may not be exactly the cheesy, bready goodness you know as pizza, hear me out! This dish will satisfy any Italian craving you may have and give you a HUGE serving of vegetables!

*It just so happens that my good friend over at Nutrition Stripped also made Cauliflower Pizza on the same day as me!  Be sure to check out her recipe as well!*

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

CAULIFLOWER PIZZA CRUST

Ingredients

1 medium sized head of cauliflower
1 zucchini, sliced
1/4 cup raw cheddar cheese
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 Tablespoon almond flour
1 egg
Coconut oil

Toppings of your choosing
*It’s best to choose pre-cooked toppings. If using vegetables, saute everything in a pan before putting on your pizza*

cauliflower pizza

Directions

Place a pizza pan or stone in the oven and preheat to 450F.

Cut florets from cauliflower. You won’t need any stem, so try to get as much of the floret off as possible. Add cauliflower and zucchini slices to food processor and whirl around until it reaches a fluffy, snow-like consistency.

Spray a saucepan with coconut oil and place cauliflower mixture in a pan. Cook over medium heat until warm, about 5 minutes. Stir frequently to make sure the cauliflower doesn’t burn.

Transfer cauliflower mixture to a tea towel and let cool for 5 minutes. Once the cauliflower is cool enough to handle, use the tea towel to drain as much water from the cauliflower as possible. Squeeze it! You may have to use two tea towels just to make sure you’re getting the water out.

Once your cauliflower is the majority of the way dry, transfer to a large mixing bowl. Add cheese, spices and egg. Knead the dough with your hands for a few minutes. You should yield about 2 1/2 – 3 cups cauliflower mix. If you feel as if you’re short, add almond flour and knead some more.

Spread the cauliflower crust into a circle on parchment paper. Don’t make the crust too thick, it won’t cook all the way through. Don’t make it too thin either, it will burn or crumble apart. Trying to make it about 1/2 an inch thick. Using a cutting board, transfer the parchment paper to the pre-heated pizza pan.

Bake for 8-11 minutes, until crust is golden brown.

Remove from oven and add your favorite toppings – I used tomato slices (instead of sauce), basil, bell peppers, onions, and garlic. Bake for 7 minutes.

cauliflower pizza

THE REVIEW

YUM! Never in a million years would I have thought that vegetables could replace my love for pizza. This “pizza” is like an Italian casserole, full of spices and flavor, but without the carbs and gluten.

The cayenne pepper adds a nice spicy flavor, without the spicy feeling. The zucchini flavor is subtle, but adds a summery flavor you won’t forget. Finally, the small amount of raw cheese brings in the cheesy goodness you love in pizza, without the large amount of grease and food guilt.

So go ahead, eat that second piece and feel good about it!

 

22 thoughts on “Cauliflower Pizza Crust

  1. To be honest, I’m dubious about cauliflower satisfying my pizza jones, but I think I will give this a try – and a shout-out – during Vegan Mofo next month! Thanks for the great post!

    • Hi Chelsey!

      My pan is standard size. However, my pan did have holes in the bottom of it for ventilation. The pizza cut into 8 pieces, so it’s about the size of a traditional medium pizza. The crust was about 1/2 inch thick. Did you try using parchment paper between the pan and your pizza? It really does work wonders.

      Hope this helps!

Leave a comment