Pie Day Friday: Maui Powey Pie

Maui Powey Pie: Copyright Stacy. Really, this pie is a pineapple meringue pie! Stacy (my boss) came up with the name Maui Powey Pie because it’s so fruity and tropical, POW! Just like Maui!

My Southern Cooking skills are really improving! I found this recipe in my Southern Cookbook and am on my way to being a real Southern Belle (meh…maybe not).  With a few minor alterations, I made it my own!

Unfortunately, this pie is not vegan. I have yet to find a whipped vegan topping that is meringue like, and meringue is my favorite thing in the world. Regardless, I hope you enjoy eating, or at least reading about, this pie!

Maui Powey Pie

MAUI POWEY PIE

For the Crust

2 cups Pecan Cookies crumbs (like Pecan Sandies)
1 cup sweetened flaked coconut
1/4 cup butter, melted

For the Pineapple Filling

2 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1/4 cup cornstarch
3 large egg yolks ****Save the whites for the meringue!****
3/4 cup sugar
1-20 oz. can crushed pineapple, drained
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the Meringue

3 egg whites (reserved from the filling)
1/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup coconut (for topping)

Directions

Crust

For the Crust

Preheat oven to 350F.

Sift together pecan cookie crumbs and coconut flakes. Drizzle butter on top, stir until larger crumbs begin to form.

Press mixture into a 9-inch, lightly greased glass pie pan.

Bake for 12 minutes or until edges are golden. Let cool completely.

Filling

For the Filling

In a stockpot, whisk together almond milk and cornstarch until cornstarch is fully incorporated.

Whisk in egg yolks and sugar.

Cook over medium heat for 10-15 minutes, whisking continuously. The mixture is finished when is it a puddling like consistency and bubbling slightly and you can form soft peaks when you lift the whisk.

Remove from heat and whisk in pineapple, butter, and vanilla. Whisk until butter is melted and fully incorporated.

Immediately pour hot mixture into the cooled pie crust.

Meringue

For the Meringue

In a standing mixer, beat egg whites until foamy.

Once whites are foamy, gradually add the sugar, a spoonful at a time. Be sure to scrap the sides down as needed.

Beat on high until stiff peaks form.

Assembly

Preheat oven to 350F.

When meringue is mixed, spread over the hot filling. You should start by spreading around the edges, a spoonful at a time, to seal the edges and prevent shrinking. Gradually work your way to the center.

Once meringue covers all the filing, using the back of a spoon, lightly dab the meringue and quickly lift to form small peaks.

Top with 1/3 cup coconut.

Bake for 5 minutes, rotate, and bake for 5 more. Let cool for 1 hour, then move to the fridge to chill for at least 4 hours.

Maui Powey Pie

THE REVIEW

Meringue is my favorite. In fact, I always ask for Lemon Meringue Pie for my birthday rather than a birthday cake. I decided this pie would be a good twist on my favorite meringue pie and give me some practice with my meringue making!

The crust was very coconutty, but was rich and buttery with the pecan cookie crumbs. The filling was full of flavor. It was like a pineapple whip cone from the fair! It had the sweet taste of vanilla with the sweet and sour taste of pineapple. The topping, of course, was my favorite. The meringue was light and fluffy and the coconut topping added a new, but great flavor to the classic meringue. There wasn’t too much meringue either, this pie had the perfect crust to filling to topping ratio.
The weather this week was perfect for meringue. It wasn’t too humid, so the meringue quickly formed peaks and stayed light, fluffy, and stiff after it baked.

Even Brandon, who is picky about pineapple, enjoyed this pie! Martha said it was her favorite so far. Of course, she also said that last week, so maybe they just keep getting better!

I can now  meringue like no body’s business.

WEEKEND!

I get to see my parents today! Cory and I are going camping with them. If memory serves me right, my mom is bringing stuff to make S’mores pies over the fire at their campsite! Have a great weekend!

3 thoughts on “Pie Day Friday: Maui Powey Pie

  1. Pingback: Pieday Friday: Lemon Meringue Piecakes | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a comment