Kitchen Sink Burritos

Kitcehn Sink Burritos

When Julia and I first moved into our apartment, we were learning our way around our own kitchen and looking for cheap ways to eat healthy. For a while, we found ourselves making burritos with our kitchen staples-rice, beans, and veggies. Now, after cooking a full blown dinner at least 3 times a week for a little less than a year, I still find myself making burritos.

These burritos have evolved however, from white rice and black beans to mole sauce and potatoes. I’ve been using burritos as a way of getting rid of leftovers. A little of this, a little of that and suddenly, you have a gourmet meal (well, gourmet by my standards).

“Everything but the kitchen sink,” is almost applicable to this recipe. Here’s what I’ve been putting in my burritos lately and how I’ve been making them!

Kitchen Sink Burritos

KITCHEN SINK BURRITOS
Makes 2 Burritos

Ingredients

1 Tablespoon olive oil
1/2 a potato, chopped
1/2 cup chili beans
1/2 an onion, diced
pinch salt
1/4 teaspoon chili powder
2 large tortillas
1 teaspoon margarine
1 cup rice, cooked
1/4 cup Red Velvet Mole and Black Beans
1 Avocado, sliced
Juice from half a lime
Handful of Spinach

Directions

In a large skillet, saute potatoes until tender (about 5 minutes), stirring continuously.

Add chili beans, onion, salt, and chili powder. Saute until onions are translucent. Pour lime juice over the mixture and cook for 1 minute.

Remove from heat.

Butter both side of the tortillas. In a small skillet, heat tortillas over medium heat for 3 minutes on each side. The tortillas should begin to brown and be flimsy and easy to work with.

On a plate, spread a spoonful of rice and 1/2 the mixture onto a tortilla. Top with spinach and avocado.

Fold two sides of the tortilla inward, then roll from end to end to make the burrito. Top with heated Red Velvet Mole and Black Beans.

Fruit and Avocado Salad

THE REVIEW

I love burritos, not just because they’re delicious, but because they’re really simple to make and provide an efficient way of getting rid of leftovers.

This particular burrito had very little spice with the pinch of chili powder and the mole sauce on top. It was very filling and the lime added a littlezing. The potatoes added a nice texture to the mixture and the spinach added a good, clean crunch.

I ate my burrito with a fruit and avocado salad and tortilla chips (also leftovers)! This gave me a very colorful plate and provided me with a range of food groups!

What’s the best way to efficiently get rid of leftovers?

I personally like the burrito method, but I also love making a good grilled veggie sandwich when I’m raiding the fridge.

6 thoughts on “Kitchen Sink Burritos

Leave a Reply

