Guilt Free Lemon-Coconut Meltaways (Virtual Vegan Potluck)

vvpLOGO

It’s that time of year again! Time for the Virtual Vegan Potluck! Last year, I participated by submitting some lovely Plum-Strawberry Popsicles. This year, I’m back with guilt free, gluten free, and of course, vegan, Lemon-Coconut Meltaways. So sit back, enjoy this recipe, then scroll through the entire potluck for some delicious vegan appetizers, beverages, breads, salads, sides, main dishes, and desserts! There are 169 of us this year, so get ready to see some delicious food!

If you’ve never visited The Hearty Herbivore before, please take some time to scroll through my recipes, like me on Facebook, Follow me on a Twitter and Instagram, and leave me some love!

Lemon-Coconut Meltaways

GUILT FREE COCONUT-LEMON MELTAWAYS
Adapted from Addicted to Veggies
Yields 2 dozen Bite-sized snacks

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups Almond Flour
1 1/2 cups Unsweetened Shredded Coconut
1/3 cups coconut flour
Very generous pinch of salt
6 Tablespoons Grade A Pure Maple Syrup
Juice and zest from 1 lemon
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup plus 1 Tablespoons Melted Coconut Oil

Directions

Preheat oven to the lowest heat possible-for me, it was 175F.

In a large bowl or in the bowl of standing mixer, combine almond flour, coconut, coconut flour, and salt. Set aside.

In a small bowl, combine maple syrup, lemon juice, lemon zest, and vanilla.

Using a standing mixer or a hand mixer, stream liquid ingredients into your dry ingredients and mix until combined.

Slowly stream in melted coconut oil until dough begins to form. If you don’t have a powerful mixer, you may need to knead the dough at this point.

Roll pieces of dough into bite sized balls and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

Bake for 1 hour. Your finished cookies will be dry on the outside and gooey on the inside.

Lemon-Coconut Meltaway

THE REVIEW

These little babies are just what I need for my sweet tooth. I love lemon and I love coconut, so why not combine them in a way that is guilt-free? Since they’re naturally sweetened, I don’t feel weighed down with sugar after I eat one, and they’re small enough that I can pop one in my mouth to satisfy my nagging sweet tooth.

Lemon-Coconut Meltaways

I also can’t complain because they were super easy and quick to prepare! I got some work done while waiting on them to dehydrate- as in I worked on a puzzle. Ah, the life of a college student during the summer.

I hope you all enjoy the Potluck!

Click here to go to foodiEcology!

Click here to go to vixbakes!

46 thoughts on “Guilt Free Lemon-Coconut Meltaways (Virtual Vegan Potluck)

  1. Yum! I’m surrounded by lovely lemon recipes on VVP–which is awesome. :-)These look delicious–and once I get my hands on some almond flour, I know what I’m making.

  2. These look so good. My only problem will be stopping at eating just one. They melt away very quickly at my house. The lemony goodness will definitely hit the sweet spot I have. Thank you for the recipe.

  3. Pingback: Enlightened Raw Carrot Cupcakes with Apple-Cashew Frosting | the taste space - steam, bake, boil, shake!

  4. These look just delicious! Can’t wait to try out some of your recipies!! I am a new blogger and will be adding a lot of recipies to my page and your blog has really inspired me! Thanks 🙂
    Cheers,
    Bec x

  5. Pingback: Cauliflower Pizza Crust |

Leave a Reply

