Sundried Tomato Hummus

Well, it’s official.

I’m vegan!

(For the next 40 days, anyway).

I’ve decided to jump in feet first and go vegan for Lent this year. It’s been a little under a week now and it’s already becoming routine. There really haven’t been too many changes to my diet, either. I haven’t been eating much dairy lately, or eggs for that matter, so making the transition wasn’t hard. The hardest thing so far as been getting rid of what I like to call “convenience food.” For example, I’ve been on campus all day and really want some chips/ice cream/all the food. Nope, not when you’re vegan.

So far, so good, though! Being vegan has helped me plan out my meals better-as well as my grocery list-and be more conscious about what I’m putting in my body.

I do love a good vegan sandwich. Here is one of my favorite spreads.

Sundried Tomato Hummus

SUNDRIED TOMATO HUMMUS

Ingredients
1 (16 oz) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 clove garlic
Juice from 1/2 a lemon
2 Tablespoons tahini
1/4 teaspoon salt
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 cup sundried tomatoes

Directions

Soak tomatoes in 1 cup of boiling water, covered, until tomatoes are soft and rehydrated, about 15 minutes. Remove tomatoes from water (save the water), and place them in a food processor with 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil. Process until smooth. Add a little of the tomato water if necessary. Discard water.

In a food processor, combine chickpeas. garlic, lemon juice, tahini, salt, and a dash of olive oil. Process until smooth.

Transfer hummus to a large mixing bowl. Add 1/4 cup of your tomato pesto to the hummus and mix with a wooden spoon until combined. Add more tomato mixture to taste.

Serve with pita, or on a wrap, sandwich, or salad.

final2

THE REVIEW

This was my first successful batch of hummus! I’ve been on the hunt for some good recipes, and after days of looking, I decided to make one up as I went along.
The traditional flavor of hummus is very apparent with an added hint of sun dried tomato. Nothing too strong, just enough flavor to put a spin on this classic dip. The flavor is enough, though, that you don’t need to use too much-a Tablespoon is plenty! It adds just the right amount of flavor and just the right texture to any veggie sandwich or wrap.

My favorite thing to spread this hummus on was a black bean wrap. This wrap was filled with spinach, black beans, rice, and any other veggies I could find!

final3

26 thoughts on “Sundried Tomato Hummus

  1. Your hummus is a vegan classic but I love my classic’s! Yeah for the 40th day vegan challenge! I went vegan for 2 weeks but then I missed my organic pork & organic chicken! šŸ˜¦

    • Ha! I can imagine that the transition from meat-eating to vegan is difficult! Having been a vegetarian who flirts with veganism for the past 5-6 years, it hasn’t been too difficult for me! I’m about a week in, so we’ll see how it goes.

  2. Congrats on going vegan, for however long, for any reason! Every little bit makes a difference, and I’m very happy to hear this news. Especially since it means we get to enjoy more tempting recipes like this for all to enjoy. šŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Vegan Lemon Pesto Cream Pasta - Busy Vegetarian Mom | Busy Vegetarian Mom

  4. Hey! Great post. Thought I’d chime in – It seems easy to find yourself in a vegan food dessert (especially when on campus. or at the mall. or driving.) but there are tons of convenient vegan foods! Nature Valley makes a few vegan granola bars, most trail mixes, chips, and popcorn are vegan (watch for added butter). Also a lot of places are beginning to sell bags of carrots and pieces of fruit. There are options! I also make sure I have a granola bar or piece of fruit with me at all times (something small I can keep in my purse) just in case.
    Anyway – have fun! Can’t wait to read some more vegan recipes.

  5. Pingback: Sun-Dried Tomato and Rosemary Bread - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

