Broccoli Cornbread

What do you think of the new look?

While it’s still not ideal (I don’t have complete control over the design of my site because I’m using free WordPress), I think it’s a lot more “me!” As my blog grows, I’ll be exploring more options for expansion and will one day, hopefully, have some more freedom, especially the design and functionality, since those are two things that I study everyday in class!

Back to your regularly scheduled programming: Food.

As you all know, I’m no Southern Lady. I was born and raised in the Midwest…Indiana to be exact. I had never even experienced the vast array of cornbreads that exist until Cory came into my life. So here I am, sharing some of my cornbread knowledge with you that I’ve built up over the past three years. This is my favorite Southern treat, as taught to me by Ms. Janet Cox…I’ll pass along the fan mail you send for her!

Broccoli Cornbread

BROCCOLI CORNBREADAdapted from Ms. Janet Cox

Ingredients

1 1/2 sticks butter
1 cup cottage cheese
1 medium onion, chopped
2 boxes Jiffy Cornbread Mix
1 (10 oz) package chopped frozen broccoli
4 eggs, beaten

Directions

Place butter in a cast iron skillet. Place skillet in the oven and preheat to 375F.

Combine the rest of the ingredients together in a large mixing bowl. When the butter is melted in the skillet, carefully pour the butter into the bowl and combine.

Spread mixture into skillet and cook for 35-45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cornbread comes out clean.

Broccoli Cornbread

THE REVIEW

Truth time: I just gained a pound from typing this recipe. While it’s not the healthiest thing in the world, this cornbread is definitely in the running to be the most delicious thing in the world! This cornbread is super moist with a sweet cornbread flavor combined with the fresh taste of broccoli.

For those of you who have some idea that cornbread is plain and only used for chili topping-FORGET ABOUT IT! This cornbread is delicious on its own. It’s so moist and sweet, you may even consider it corncake!

Ms. Janet usually makes this cornbread in a 9 x 13 glass baking dish, but I decided to put it in a cast iron skillet to make a it a bit more crisp. It’s delicious both ways, but I think I prefer the skillet because the bottom and top of the cornbread is crisp, while the center is gooey and delicious.

Why is it that things are always better when someone else makes them for you? Regardless, I’m looking forward to having Ms. Janet’s Broccoli Cornbread on New Year’s Day!

Broccoli Cornbread

8 thoughts on “Broccoli Cornbread

  1. Pingback: Jiff Cornbread/Quick & easy favorite « Straddle The White Line

  2. Pingback: Super Easy Garlic & Onion Cornbread Muffins Recipe | herChristianHome.com

Leave a Reply

