Southwest Chocolate Cookies

*Takes a deep breath* Well, that’s finally over. And by “that,” I mean a semester packed with stress. Never again will that happen. Over the past few months, I realized that I was doing too much. More importantly, I was doing too much stuff that wasn’t making me happy. So, I decided I’m going to start giving myself more time. That means more cooking, which means more blogging, which means more enjoyment for you guys. Am I right, or am I right?

On top of more food and blogging, I’ve joined a volleyball league, decided to start doing more freelance design, and exploring my career options a bit more (Anyone know of any good art management or design internship opportunities in Nashville?).

So, I’m back and better than ever! Some exciting things are coming up on the blog, including healthy recipes, a few reviews, some not so healthy recipes, and hopefully a new design! I hope you’ll stick around to see what happens! I also hope you’ll stick around to see what happens with my new volleyball team, we’re pretty good, I’m not going to lie.

Speaking of the volleyball team, I’m sure you know, I love cooking for other people. So, I decided to make some healthy treats for the team for after our first game-which we won! These cookies are high in protein, naturally sweetened, and most importantly, just delicious.

Southwest Chocolate Cookies

SOUTHWEST CHOCOLATE COOKIES
Adapted from A Couple Cooks
Yields 2 dozen small cookies

Ingredients

15-ounce can cooked black beans
2 Tablespoons olive oil
2 Tablespoons natural peanut butter
2 Tablespoons coconut milk
1/2 cup honey (or Agave nectar, a little less)
5 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
3 Tablespoons whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoons salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 375F. Grease 2 baking sheets with non-stick cooking spray.

Drain and rinse the black beans. In a food processor, combine, black beans, olive oil, peanut butter, coconut milk. and honey. Blend until smooth

Add cocoa powder, flour, cinnamon, cayenne pepper, baking powder, and salt to the mixture and blend again until the batter is thick and resembles chocolate mousse. Yum!

Drop batter by the Tablespoon onto your prepared cookie sheets. Bake for 10 minutes, or until the cookies are soft, but the bottoms are a bit darkened. Let cool for 1 minute, then transfer to a cooling rack.

Southwest Cookies

THE REVIEW

I know, I know. Black beans can be scary. A lot of people claim they don’t like beans, for whatever reason. But, you would never even know these have black beans in them unless you made them yourself. I put them to the test by giving them to my coworkers. They had no idea! They’re sweet and spicy, gooey, and delicious. Best of all, they seem pretty guilt-free, especially after a good game of volleyball.

If you’re afraid of the spice mixed with the beans, try a batch without the cayenne first to see how you like them. Most importantly, don’t be afraid and go for it!

Southwest Chocolate Cookies

12 thoughts on “Southwest Chocolate Cookies

  1. Some of the best homemade brownies I ever had were made with black beans so I think these cookies look just delicious! I love how dark they are! Mmmmm.

Leave a Reply

