Double Butterscotch Brownies Blogiversarry

Remember that time I said “I’m Back!” posted once, then didn’t post again for a few weeks? My bad.

I’m back, for real this time. Cooking delicious food, taking pictures, eating too much, and blogging. What better way to come back than with the gooey, super-rich, kind of messy, Double Butterscotch Brownies?!

After weeks of eating burritos and grilled cheeses in my mad rush to finish homework, catch up on work, and hang out with friends, I’m pleased to announce that I’ve finally managed to find time in my schedule for cooking healthy (with the exception of these brownies), fun, and hearty dishes!

Double Butterscotch Brownies

DOUBLE BUTTERSCOTCH BROWNIES
Adapted from Pastry Queen Parties
Yields 24 brownies (that’s a lot!!)

Ingredients

For the Brownies

1 cup unsalted butter at room temperature (2 sticks)
3 cups firmly packed brown sugar
4 large eggs
1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups pecans, chopped

For the Icing

1 cup unsalted butter
2 cups firmly packed brown sugar
4 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup half-and-half
1 Tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions

For the Brownies

Preheat oven to 350F. Line two 9×13 inch ceramic or glass baking pans with foil and grease with non-stick cooking spray.

In a large bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar until fluffy.

Add the eggs and 1 Tablespoons vanilla. Continue beating until incorporated.

In a smaller bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Slowly add dry ingredients to the wet and beat until incorporated. Stir in the pecans.

Pour into the prepared pans and smooth the tops of the brownies.

Bake 25 minutes, or until the bars are set and slightly puffy.

Let cool completely.

For the icing

In a large saucepan, melt butter and brown sugar over medium heat.

Once the mixture is bubbly, reduce the heat to medium-low and cook for 2 more minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat.

Using an electric mixer, beat the powdered sugar, half-and-half, and vanilla until smooth, about 1 minute. Add the butter mixture and beat until completely combined.

Pour the icing over the cooled brownies and spread evenly.

Let sit for at least 30 minutes, in order for the brownies to set up.

Cut into squares and serve.

Butterscotch Brownies

THE REVIEW

Oh no. These brownies. They’re too good. Especially since I have 24 Double Butterscotch Brownies sitting in my dining room right now, taunting me from the time I wake up to the time I go to bed, and even when I’m in bed, these brownies are in my dreams. I have to limit myself to one brownie a day (if that)!

These brownies are rich. They’re gooey. They’re crispy. They’re delicious. Remember that age old dilemma- gooey brownies or crispy brownies? Forget about it. The center of each brownie is chewy, the tops are crispy, the pecans add a little crunch, and the icing adds a super sweet, gooey aspect to each individual brownie.

My biggest flaw with these brownies is that I cut them too big. These brownies are so rich, that it is difficult for even me, The Sweets Queen, to finish an entire brownie in one sitting. While cutting the brownies smaller means more individual pieces, I don’t think you’ll regret it!

Butterscotch Brownies

BLOGIVERSARY

While, I was gone, I celebrated my 1 year Blogiversary! I’ve made it one year! Cooking delicious food, eating a lot healthier, and impressing all of my friends. Thanks to everyone who has told their friends about my blog, tried out my recipes, or just followed me on my crazy journeys! I appreciate all 748 of you (and would love for each of you to tell one of your friends about me)!

What I really did to celebrate my blogiversarry was cater my sister’s wedding. And by cater, I mean make tons of delicious cupcakes! Pictures are on her now husband’s camera, so hopefully I’ll see some of those soon!

You should “like” me on Facebook, follow me on Twitter, subscribe to my RSS feed, and follow my Pins and Loves on Pinterest and LoveIt!

Thanks for the welcome back, y’all!

11 thoughts on “Double Butterscotch Brownies Blogiversarry

  1. Good evening! In all my years of internet recipe hunting, I have never been compelled to comment on a blog post. This recipe changed that rule; these blondies are simply the best square type dessert I have ever made. Your instructions are simple, pictures are lovely, and the result is incredible. I couldn’t keep making them without thanking you for providing me with a new favourite treat.

Leave a Reply

