Ooey Gooey Chocolate Chip Cookies

Once again, I’m sorry for the spotty posting.

But here’s the latest with me:

I started classes, and a second job as a teaching assistant. Therefore, I’m pretty busy with school and life. When I do have time to cook, I don’t really have time to blog. I’ll be getting into a routine this week and the next, and then I should be back to normal.

I was gone this weekend for The Swiss Wine Festival in Vevay, Indiana. For those of you who don’t know, Vevay is my hometown and it’s the birthplace of the commercial wine industry in America. Hashtag, hometown pride. This was my favorite festival goer!

This weekend I’ll be in Vegas for my sister’s Bachelorette party! It’s going to be a weekend filled with sister fun and friends. I’ll be sure to post pictures of the city (and of any food I eat) when I return!

So here’s a recipe to remember me by while I get back in the swing of going to class, doing homework, and working 24/7.

OOEY GOOEY CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES
Yields 2 dozen cookies
Adapted from Kirbie Cravings

Ingredients

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter at room temperature, cut into chunks
1 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
1 egg
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 cups all purpose flour.
2 teaspoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon baking sode
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 package Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate, unrwapped and chopped

Directions

Preheat oven to 350F.

Using a hand mixer, cream together butter and sugars until smooth. Add egg and vanilla and blend.

Using a wooden spoon, stir in flour, cornstarch baking soda, and salt. You may get a good arm workout in this step, but this way, the cookies will stay fluffy, rather than flatten out and be crispy on the edges.

Stir in chocolate chunks.

Drop dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet by the Tablespoon and cook for 8-10 minutes, until golden.

THE REVIEW

Who doesn’t love chocolate chip cookies? Better question, who doesn’t love soft, chewy chocolate chip cookies?

You may be wondering what the secret to these cookies are. Two things:

1. Adding the powdered ingredients by stirring with a wooden spoon.
2. Cornstarch.

The dark chocolate in these cookies melts slightly and adds a nice, gooey texture to the fluffy dough. The dough is the perfect amount of salty to sweet, and the dark chocolate mellows out the cookies by adding a little bitterness.

I made these cookies for my new neighbors, and I won a cookie bake off! That’s right, guys. My new neighbor had cookies from his mom and I WON! And let me just say, beating mom cookies is a hard thing to do!

Have a great weekend, y’all!

4 thoughts on “Ooey Gooey Chocolate Chip Cookies

    • Thanks for the feedback. I tagged them vegan because some (a lot, actually!) of my posts are vegan, so I’d love to direct people to my blog as a whole, not just the recipe. Hope you’ll consider checking out the rest of my recipes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

