Vegan Mac and Cheese

Vegan Mac and Cheese

Sorry for my spotty blogging lately. Between working, getting things ready for school, and spending time with friends before they leave Bloomington, all I want to do when I get home is watch Netflix. It’s a problem, really. I need to find my motivation, especially before classes start!

Regardless of my lack of motivation, I have been cooking (a lot, actually)! I caught up with Shelly of Vegetarian ‘Ventures (a fellow Bloomington, Indiana food blogger and friend) and we made some delicious noms last weekend! We had a blast breaking in the kitchen of her new house, giving each other photography and marketing tips, and talking about our Goodwill finds. I’m looking forward to working with her more, and even just hanging out with her more in the future.

Vegan Mac and Cheese
VEGAN MAC & CHEESE

Cashew Sauce

1 large Yukon potato, peeled and cut into small chunks
1 medium carrot, chopped
1 cup water
1/3 cup raw cashews
1/4 cup raw pine nuts
1/3 cup margarine (We used Earth Balance)
1/2 cup nutritional yeast
1/2 lemon, juiced
1 tsp. salt
1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard

Cream Sauce

1/2 cup margarine (We used Earth Balance)
5 Tablespoons margarine
2 cups almond milk
1/2 cup nutritional yeast
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1/2 teaspoon salt

Breadcrumbs (about 1/3 cup)
16 oz. cooked noodles of your choice

Directions

Prepare the pasta, cooking until al dente. Preheat oven to 350F.

For the Cashew Sauce

In a small saucepan, combine carrots and potato with 1 cup of water. Cover and cook over medium-high heat for about 10 minutes, until veggies have softened slightly.

In a blender, pulse pine nuts and cashews until small grains have formed. Transfer the potato, carrots, and water to the blender, along with the rest of the cashew sauce ingredients. Blend until smooth.

For the Cream Sauce

In a saucepan, melt margarine over medium heat and add the flour. Form a roux with the mixture by continuously stirring until a thick paste has formed.

Slowly had almond milk by pouring in a constant stream. Stir constantly until the sauce has thickened, about 5 minutes.

Remove from heat and add in nutritional yeast, turmeric, and salt.

Assembly

Add creamy sauce to the blender with the cashew sauce. Blend until well combined.

Pour cooked pasta into a 9×13 baking pan and stir in the sauce from the blender.

Cover with tin foil and cook for 25 minutes. Remove from oven and add breadcrumbs on top.

Vegan Mac and Cheese

THE REVIEW

Seriously, I’ve had my share of vegan mac and cheese, and none of it has turned out as nicely as this. The cheese flavor wasn’t very strong, making this more of a fettuccine than mac and cheese.

The nutritional yeast, pine nuts, and cashews gave this dish a bit of a nutty flavor, but nothing too overpowering. The consistency was very similar to the homemade mac & cheese my mom makes at Thanksgiving, which is one of my favorite dishes!

I have two confessions:

1. This dish is late night approved! I ate it at midnight while I watched Malcolm in the Middle, and it hit the spot!

2. I love Mac & Cheese with ketchup. Yes, this makes me a total weirdo, I’m aware. The point being, this mac and cheese passed the ketchup test! Add just a Tablespoon of ketchup and this pasta sings of perfection!

Vegan mac and Cheese

Oh, and if you didn’t know…Shelly has an adorable dog named Tuko.

Tuko

Thanks for cooking with me, Shelly! And thanks for the photography and marketing tips! 🙂

Hope everyone is having a great week! If you’re still not satisfied, check out Shelly’s post!

8 thoughts on “Vegan Mac and Cheese

  1. Pingback: Vegan Mac & Cheese « Vegetarian 'Ventures

  2. I’m new to wordpress, but I happily stumbled upon your blog and this recipe and it looks so good! I’ll have to try when I go home for the weekend. Sorry if this is a dumb question, but what is the difference between nutritional and regular yeast?

    • Nutritional Yeast isn’t anything like regular yeast-it doesn’t make bread rise or anything like that. Nutritional Yeast usually comes in flakes and adds a nutty (some people say cheesy) flavor to the recipe. You should be able to find it in the bulk section for a good price at your local co-op or health foods store.

      Thanks for stopping by!
      Jamie

Leave a Reply

