Pieday Friday: Why I Love Olive Oil Crust

I made a miraculous discovery last night! I tried out a new crust recipe: Olive Oil Crust, and I don’t think I can ever go back to using margarine. I was making a particularly delicious Appleberry pie last night, and decided to try out Olive Oil crust rather than buttery/shortening crust. NO REGRETS. I’m not going to lie, I was a little worried at first. The olive oil smelled so strong that I was positive this pie was going to turn into pasta. Luckily, I was wrong and this crust was a hit!

Olive Oil Crust for Appleberry Pie

OLIVE OIL CRUST
Adapted from Vegan Pie in the Sky

Ingredients

2/3 cup olive oil, semi-frozen (see note below)
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon salt
5 Tablespoons Ice water
1 Tablespoon Apple Cider Vinegar

Note: To freeze the oil, place in a thin container, like a yogurt container. Freeze for about 2 hours before you start the recipe, or until the oil is the consistency of somewhat melted sorbet. If you over freeze it, that’s fine. Just let it thaw in the fridge or at room temperature for a while. Be sure to keep an eye on it, though! It won’t take long to thaw.

Directions

In a large bowl, sift together the flour and salt.

Using a pastry cutter or your fingers, cut the olive oil into the flour mixtureΒ  until small pebbles form and the mixture starts to resemble dough.

In a small measuring cup, mix together ice water and apple cider vinegar.

Drizzle the ice water mixture over the dough while mixing with a wooden spoon. Continue to mix until a ball forms. If necessary, add more ice water a Tablespoon at a time.

Once a ball has formed, split dough into two balls. Press each ball of dough into an inch thick disk between two 14-inch sheets of parchment paper. Using a rolling pin, roll out the dough into a circle. To do this easily, roll the dough a few times, pushing it away from you. Turn the dough a few degrees and roll out a few more times. Repeat until a large circle, about a centimeter thick, forms. Do the same with the other ball of dough.

Place both crusts in the refrigerator until ready to use.

Olive Oil Crust

THE REVIEW

I. am. in. love. Here’s why:

1. This crust is easy to work with. It transfers to the pie plate so easily, I couldn’t believe it! The oil to flour ratio makes it set up really nicely. The dough is stiff enough that it doesn’t fall apart when you transfer it to the pie plate, but still workable. You can still make beautiful crusts that won’t lock, tear, or do anything you wouldn’t want it to do. I think I could make a pretty great lattice crust out of this, too.

2. This crust browns to perfections. I’ve never made a pie with such a perfectly brown, crisp crust. It’s thin enough that it cooks all the way through, but doesn’t burn. It just browns a little on the top and the edges.

3. In this case, being flaky is great. I don’t like people to be flaky, but I love flaky crust. If you’re looking for even more flake, add a little vodka to the dough.

4. It’s just plain delicious with fruit pies. The fruity filling made this crust sing. The slightly savory olive oil tones down the super sweet filling. If you’re anything like me, you have to eat something sweet, then eat something salty, then eat something sweet, and it just goes on and on and on until you’re in a food coma. This crust seems to be the cure! It’s just savory enough that my taste buds were completely satisfied!

Besides fruit filling, I think you could make two delicious pumpkin or pecan pies with this crust. I feel an autumn pie coming on!

Olive Oil Crust

What’s your favorite kind of pie crust?

I love working with this crust, but I think my favorite would have to be the brownie bottom crust I make for my double chocolate pudding pie. So rich, so delicious.

Hope you all have a great weekend!

16 thoughts on “Pieday Friday: Why I Love Olive Oil Crust

  1. Hadn’t thought about chilling the oil….and you are right – that would make a great crust! After all, you use chilled butter/shortening! Will have to try this out in the fall πŸ™‚

  2. Wow – I guess I had the same worries you had. Olive oil feels so related to pasta that I never tried to use it with cake/pies and other sweets. But your pie looks so delicious that I need to overcome my fears πŸ˜‰ and try it too!

  3. Pingback: Pieday Friday: Sweet Cherry Pie | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

