Blue Cheese Biscuits

Blue Cheese Biscuits

A few weeks back, Cory asked me if I’ve ever made homemade biscuits.

Answer: I never have…until last week!

I found this recipe in 1001 Ways to Cook Southern and was so excited! My entire family loves Blue cheese so I was excited to find a recipe that puts a new spin on the normal blue cheese.

I even took some to my neighbors!

PS. These biscuits are in no way healthy, just delicious.

BLUE CHEESE BISCUITS

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour
2-1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 0z. container light sour cream
7 Tablespoons butter, melted
4 oz. Blue Cheese Crumbles

Directions

Preheat oven to 425F.

Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt.

Stir in butter and sour cream until dough begins to form.

Add Blue cheese crumbles.

On a lightly floured surface, roll out dough to be 1/2 an inch thick. Using a drinking glass, cut circles out of the dough.

Lay biscuits on a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until lightly browned

Blue Cheese Biscuits

THE REVIEW

I couldn’t stop eating these biscuits! They were buttery and fluffy, with the rich taste of blue cheese. The blue cheese baked into the biscuits and the taste was spread throughout, rather than being focused in a few places where the crumbles were placed.

My favorite way to eat these biscuits was in sandwich form! I sliced the biscuit in half, fried an egg, laid down a few leaves of spinach, and devoured the sandwich. SO GOOD. I’m planning on making these again when I go to Cory’s parents’ house for the 4th of July so I can show off my Southern Cooking skills! πŸ™‚

Blue Cheese Egg Sandwich
Hope you’re all having a great week!

10 thoughts on “Blue Cheese Biscuits

  1. First, yay for southern cooking.
    Second, my Mom took me to biscuit school in her kitchen the month before I got married. I was always told the less you mess with the flour the better the biscuits.
    Third, not healthy and blue cheese. You’re singing my song.
    And lastly, thank you, Jamie. I will definitely try these.

  2. Pingback: The Primrose Bakery: Rose biscuits « Black Cat Originals

Leave a Reply

