The Owlery- Round 2!

I’ve been meaning to post about this for a while, and basically I have one thing to say:

MenuTHE NEW OWLERY IF OPEN FOR BUSINESS!

It has been Since the end of April, but the line was out the door on opening night, opening weekend, and throughout the opening month. I finally made it to the new nest a few weeks ago after going to the Farmer’s Market with my friend Brooke, and again last week for dinner with my friend Nicole. (PS, both these gals are bloggers, so check them out!)

The great thing about these two trips to The Owlery were that they were at lunch and dinner. Two different times, two different atmospheres, two different menus, and of course, two different meals.

THE ATMOSPHERE

While the old location was in a small house, the new location is spacious and open with a rather large bar. Nestled on the northwest corner of the Bloomington Square, sandwiched between a row of music stores, restaurants, art galleries, stores, and a nail salon, The Owlery has made some drastic improvements to the space while maintaining a homey environment that welcomes vegetarians, vegans, and curious carnivores.

A counter full of sweet treats like lavender cupcakes, Owl Eyes (like Buckeyes!), and cakes greet each and every customer. Behind the counter is always a friendly host or hostess, a huge chalkboard with all the specials, local beers, and soups, and of course the flock of owl figurines.

The OwleryLocal art decorates the walls and a large wooden booth that spans a few tables separates the restaurant from the bar. Above the bar hangs a sign spelling out the name of the restaurant.

The service, as very similar to the last location, is very relaxed and friendly, with as-speedy-as-possible response time. With a small staff, I’d say the crew does a good job of keeping up with the crowd of people that storm their store front every day and night. And let’s face it, cooking vegetarian food ain’t always easy, and it definitely isn’t always speedy.

I spoke to our server about the new location, he said a lot of hard work had gone into making the restaurant look as good as it does, and they’re really pleased with the outcome. He said there is much more room in the kitchen now and everyone is very happy!

WHAT I’VE BEEN EATING

A better questions is, what haven’t I been eating? Or at least into eating.

When I went for lunch, I had a Peanut Tempeh Wrap with a side salad. And when I went for dinner, I had a Tempeh Reuben with sweet potato fries. You know me, I love a good sandwich!

ReubenThe Peanut Tempeh Wrap is a flour tortilla filled with marinated and grilled tempeh, shredded cabbage, spinach, and peanut sauce. The peanut flavoring is just enough to give the entire wrap the essence of Thai food, but not too much to over power the flavor of the veggies. The salad is a mix of greens topped with your choice of house made dressings. I chose the Dil Vinaigrette and it was a great choice! It really made for a good, sweet and sour side to my wrap.

The Tempeh Reuben was fabulous! I chose to get it with vegan cheese. Marinated and fried Tempeh is topped with Russian dressing, sauerkraut, and vegan cheese and is served on grilled rye bread. The bread was buttery but was till rye tasting, and the sauerkraut was the perfect mix of tangy. Like I said, the bread was a bit buttery, almost too much so. I really appreciated the richness, but it was a bit too greasy for my tastes. My sweet potato fries were on point! They were crispy and had a lot of sweet flavor to them and were still mushy like sweet potatoes should be.

WrapTHE REVIEW

The Owlery has become my new go-to vegetarian restaurant in town. With such a diverse menu (and great desserts!) there is always something new to try!

Did I mention they have vegan ice cream from Chocolate Moose? While I haven’t had the ice cream at the restaurant, I did have it at the Farmer’s Market! Oreo and peanut butter ice cream isso good. I suggest you skip your dinner plans for tonight and head to The Owlery!

One thought on “The Owlery- Round 2!

  1. Pingback: One Dozen Cupcakes or Personal Pies

Leave a Reply

