Overnight Berry Oatmeal Parfait

I’m obsessed with oatmeal, nuts, fruit, and all things that involve breakfast. So last night when I came across this recipe, I squee’d out loud. I immediately ran to my kitchen (at 10:30pm, when all I really wanted to do was go to bed), and began making an overnight oatmeal treat for my breakfast this morning.

Overnight Berry Parfait

OVERNIGHT BERRY OATMEAL PARFAIT
Adapted from The Yummy Life

Ingredients

1/4 cup uncooked old fashioned oats
1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
1/4 cup plain yogurt (Soy for my vegan friends)
1 teaspoon flax seeds
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 Tablespoons raspberry, strawberry, or blackberry jam (Your choice, I used raspberry!)
1/4 cup mixed berries (Cut in half if they’re large)
2 Tablespoons mixed nuts, chopped, diced, etc for topping (I used sliced almonds, sunflower seeds, and walnut pieces)

Directions

Add oats, almond milk, yogurt, flax seeds, vanilla and jam to a half pint mason jar.

Secure the lid, and shake until mixture is well combined.

Add mixed berries and stir until completely mixed.

Replace lid on jar and refrigerate overnight.

In the morning (or when the parfait is completely chilled and ready to be eaten), stir in mixed nuts and a few more berries.

Serve cold.

Mixing Parfait

Overnight Berry Parfait

Overnight Berry Parfait

THE REVIEW

This breakfast was my motivation for getting out of bed this morning at 6 a.m. This 8 a.m. drawing class is really taking its toll on me, but I’m almost halfway through it! I think I ate this sweet treat in approximately 1 minute. I woke up excited for it, so it was all I could do to control myself from drinking it out of the jar.

The tart berries and yogurt combined with the smooth flavor of almond milk and vanilla extract makes for a great breakfast, satisfying all of your taste buds. The hint of vanilla extract balances out a little of the tartness from the berries and yogurt. I loved the creamy texture mixed with the crunchy nuts.

My favorite part about this recipe is that you eat it straight from a mason jar, which is pretty much the cutest, most homey thing in the world.

I hope you’re all enjoying your week! I just discovered the glory of Wacom products, and I’m itching to try out the Bamboo Connect tablet I’ve borrowed for my drawing class! Between that and making pie for my coworkers, I’m not sure when I’ll ever be productive! But making pie is productivity, right?

What motivates you to wake up in the morning?

9 thoughts on “Overnight Berry Oatmeal Parfait

  1. Yum! I eat something very similar to this a few mornings a week (and sometimes have it as a lazy dinner too in summer…) But I always make mine in a bowl. I am sooo trying this in a jar. Way betterer I reckon! 😀

    • I’ve made something similar to this in a bowl, too! My issue with it was it was too cold, almost like it was freezer burnt, if that makes sense. The mason jar kind of insulates the mixture. Let me know when you think!

  2. Pingback: Sunday Funday! | The Hearty Herbivore

  3. Pingback: Vegan Slow-Cooked Oatmeal | The Hearty Herbivore

  4. Pingback: Oats in a Jar « Danielle's Dish

  5. Pingback: Happy 100th! | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

