Red Velvet Mole and Black Beans

…or should I say Mole Rojo?I’ve never taken a Spanish class, so I’m actually not sure that I should say that.

I did such a large amount of cooking this weekend, I didn’t know where to start! I decided to start with last night’s dinner (also today’s lunch!)

Mole Rojo

RED VELVET MOLE AND BLACK BEANS
Adapted from Appetite for Reduction by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

Ingredients

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
1 small white onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
5 teaspoons chili powder
2 teaspoons oregano
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon paprika
1 16-oz can diced tomatoes
1 cup vegetable broth
1/4 cup raisins
1/4 cup crushed tortilla chips (for my vegan friends, find some vegan tortilla chips, it shouldn’t be hard!)
3 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 Tablespoon creamy peanut butter
2 Tablespoons agave nectar
2 15-0z cans black beans, drained and rinsed
Fresh cilantro for garnish

Directions

In a stockpot, saute onion in olive oil over medium-high heat until translucent, about 5 minutes.

Add garlic and saute until fragrant.

Add chili powder, oregano, cinnamon, and paprika and mix well, coating the onions and garlic in spices.

Add tomatoes and vegetable broth and bring to a boil. Add tortilla chips, raisins, cocoa powder and peanut butter.

Reduce heat to low, cover, and cook for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

After 15 minutes, transfer mixture to a food process and pulse for 1 minute, or until the mixture has become a smooth puree. Make sure to let some steam escape from the food process every 20 seconds or so, if your processor doesn’t have a vent.

Move mole back to the stock pot. Stir in agave nectar and black beans.

Serve over cooked riced, vegetables, or a salad! Garnish with fresh cilantro.

Rojo Mole

THE REVIEW

This recipe was really reminiscent of the Vegan Skyline Chili I made this winter. Sweet with a hint of spiciness, creamy and thick with a bit of chunk. Poured over rice, this dish is sweet and satisfying. The flavor is that of chocolate, somewhat bitter, but very rich. The black beans make it OK to eat chocolate for dinner. 🙂 The cilantro adds a crisp, clean flavor to the dense sauce.

The beans added a great texture to the creamy sauce, as did the grains of rice. I’d love to try this served over tortilla chips or in a taco shell or taco salad bowl.

Mole Rojo

AWARDS

I’ve received a few nominations for The Versatile Blogger Award! I’m sorry for the delay on accepting this award, I’ve been trying to find a good place to fit it in to my recipe posts.

First of all, I’d like to thank The Beach House Kitchen, More than Greens, and The Hungry Irishman for nominating me! I love their blogs and enjoy reading all about their food adventures, so it’s truly an honor to be recognized by them!

Now I have to tell you guys 7 things about myself:

1. I grew up on a farm in Southeastern Indiana
2. I have 4  dogs and a cat at home, and I miss the dogs dearly. The cat annoys me.
3. I realized I liked to cook when I moved into my first apartment, I went over 20 years without knowing much about cooking.
4. I have two sisters, they’re both amazing ladies who are pretty much geniuses.
5. I blog for Bloomington Area Music and BITEBloomington and really love to be involved with the community. I’m always looking for new projects to tackle.
6. I’m going to school for Art Management, graphic design, and telecommunications. While most people in my major want to be in the field, traveling, touring, and booking, I would love nothing more than to design promotions behind a desk everyday. Graphic design is something that’s always been able to keep my attention for days at a time.
7. My mom inspired me to start cooking and is always teaching me new things about the kitchen! My favorite thing she makes is a family recipe- Banana Pudding. It only comes around once a year, on Thanksgiving, so I cherish it! I made it this year and I thought it turned out well, but not as good as hers. 🙂 Funny fact about my mom, she doesn’t like the banana pudding that much.

And finally, here are some blogs I’ve been reading lately!

Creek Royalty: Awesome pictures, great stories, and such a sweet blogger. 🙂
An Unrefined Vegan: She hosted the Virtual Vegan Potluck, what’s not to love?
Vegetarian ‘Ventures: Great food, awesome adventures.
It Happens in the Studio: This is my life now that I’ve started a studio class. I was cracking up reading this.
HipsterSpinster: For all the music happenings.

Hope you’re week’s off to a great start!

 

5 thoughts on “Red Velvet Mole and Black Beans

  1. You amaze me with your recipes and your overall energy. Plus I loved the seven facts (the Jamie behind the food). Also, thanks for the plug. You are so kind.

  2. Pingback: Sunday Funday! | The Hearty Herbivore

  3. Pingback: Kitchen Sink Burritos | The Hearty Herbivore

  4. Pingback: Super Easy Roast Bean Tortillas with Hot Tomato Sauce | Fixed List Cooking

Leave a Reply

