Vegan Corn and Squash Quesadillas

I’ve been trying to cook Southern since Cory’s parents got me Southern Living’s 1001 Ways to Cook Southern for Christmas.

I tried to make Delta Tamales. I failed. I tried to make cornbread from scratch. I failed. Needless to say, I was getting a bit discouraged. I did make Peaches Jezebel, but that was just too easy. Here we are, 5 months later, and I finally made a great recipe. Not only did I make a good dinner last night, I also made a vegan Southern dinner. Yes, you read that correctly.

Corn Squash Quesadillas

CORN AND SQUASH QUESADILLAS
Yields 6-8 quesadillas
Adapted from 1001 Ways to Cook Southern

Ingredients

1 Tablespoon olive oil
2 pablano peppers, seeded, ribs removed, and chopped
1/2 a white onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
Kernels from 4 ears fresh sweet corn
4 small yellow squash, chopped
2 Tablespoons basil
1 Tablespoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1 Tablespoon vegan butter (like Earth Balance)
Large Tortillas
1 avocado

Directions

In a large saucepan, saute peppers in olive oil over medium heat until tender, about 5 minutes. Add onion and garlic and saute until garlic is fragrant, about 30 seconds.

Add chopped squash to the sauce pan, adding more olive oil if necessary. Cook until squash is soft, about 10 minutes. Stir constantly and add water to the pan if it begins to dry out.

After squash is soft, add corn kernels and cook for 5 more minutes, until corn is beginning to brown.

Remove squash and corn mixture from heat.

Lightly butter one side of a tortilla and place in a small saucepan over medium heat. Fill half the tortilla with 1/2 cup of the squash mixture and fold the other half of the tortilla over.

Cook for 3 minutes, or until the underside of the tortilla is browned, then carefully flip the quesadilla and cook for another 3 minutes. Repeat until you’ve completed all of the quesadillas.

Serve topped with a spoonful of the squash mixture, avocado, and sour cream (if you’re not going the vegan route!).

Corn Squash Quesadillas

THE REVIEW

I love a good quesadilla, I really do. The corn-squash mixture in these quesadillas is seasoned with such strong flavor, that it could be eaten plain as a side dish, on top of a salad, or with tortilla chips. The oregano and basil adds a strong, new flavor to the everyday quesadilla. The buttered tortilla is rich and evens out the spices in the squash mixture. The avocado cools everything down and makes for a perfect dinner or lunch.

The sweet corn and squash make this the perfect summer recipe. With sweet flavors, great texture, and hearty veggies, I had nothing to complain about!

DON’T FORGET!

The Virtual Vegan Potluck is this Saturday! I can’t wait for you guys (or should I say “y’all,” since I’m not a Southern Cook?) to check out what I have in store, as well as what the other foodies are bringing to the table!

Also, Fridays are now Pieday! Stay tuned for the weekly pie!

3 thoughts on “Vegan Corn and Squash Quesadillas

  1. Pingback: Sunday Funday | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

