Vegan Stuffed Peppers

It’s only Tuesday and I’m already exhausted! Luckily, I’ll be finished with 3 0f my 5 classes tomorrow with one presentation, a project, and an exam due. It sounds like a lot, but I’m excited because it’s a relief that this hectic semester is coming to an end!

It’s almost Summer Time! I have this week and finals week, then summer session begins! I’ll be taking two art classes (drawing and color theory) and then working the rest of the summer.

I’m trying to think of some fun, quirky thing I can do all summer that’s food related. I was thinking maybe “The Weekly Pie,” but then Cory reminded me that “That’s a lot of pie.” That could get ugly, really fast.

In the mean time, here’s my new favorite dinner that can easily be made vegan by not topping with sour cream or cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

STUFFED PEPPERS
Adapted from All Day I Dream about Food
Makes 4 peppers

Ingredients

4 large bell peppers, tops, seeds and ribs removed
1 15-oz can corn
1 cup white rice
2 cups vegetable broth
2 teaspoons olive oil
1/2 an onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
2 teaspoons cumin
1 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon paprika
pinch pepper
pinch salt
1 small chili pepper, diced
1 15-oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 15-oz can petite diced tomatoes
1 7-oz can diced green chilies, drained
Juice of 1 lime
optional toppings: Avocado, cheese, sour cream

Directions

Cook rice according to package instructions, replacing water with vegetable broth.

In a large skillet, heat 1 tsp olive oil over medium heat. Add corn and cook for approximately 5 minutes, until corn is lightly browned. Move to a bowl and set aside.

Preheat oven to 375F.

Heat 1 teaspoon olive oil in the skillet. Cook onions and garlic until onions are tender and garlic is fragrant. Add diced red pepper, cilantro, cumin, oregano, paprika, salt, and pepper, stirring to combine.

Stir in black beans, tomatoes, green chilies, and lime juice. Remove from heat.

Stir in rice and corn.

In a deep casserole dish, fill bell peppers evenly with rice mixture. You may have some filling left over. Cover with foil and cook 20 minutes. Remove foil, add cheese (if using) and bake for an additional 5 minutes.

Serve hot, topped with avocado and sour cream (if using).

Perfect Pepper

THE REVIEW

I’m usually not a huge fan of stuffed peppers, to be totally honest. There’s something about the sweetness of bell peppers that throws me off. These peppers, however, have turned me into a true believer.

I loved the filling. It was hearty with a strong cumin flavor. The corn complimented the flavor to perfection and the peppers weren’t over cooked. The peppers weren’t pruney, or even wrinkly for that matter. They were easy to cut, but still had enough crunch to them to give a good textural contrast between the filling and the pepper.

The avocado I topped my pepper with added the perfect, creamy texture with a refreshing burst of cool.

You know how I mentioned the leftover filling earlier? I’m going to let you in on a little secret:it’s absolutely fabulous on a bed of spinach.

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Vegan Stuffed Peppers

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Sweet Pepper – Hearty and Healthy! « jittery cook

  2. Pingback: Lazy Vegetarian Wins Again » s-rinehart photography blog

  3. Pingback: Recipe: Quinoa Stuffed Peppers » s-rinehart photography blog

  4. Pingback: Slow Cooker Stuffed Bell Peppers | In Krista's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

