Oat Bran with Berries

Oat Bran is one of those foods that just makes me think of old people. The same way prunes make me think of those denture wearing folks at the nursing home.

I came across this recipe last week and decided I’d love to try to jazz up my regular, boring oatmeal.

First, I mixed together bran cereal, old fashioned oats, and water in a stockpot. I brought them to a boil and allowed them to thicken.

Oat Bran Boiling

Then, I added egg whites, brown sugar, salt and Cinnamon to the mix and allowed it to reach a good, oatmeal-like consistency.

Measurements

Thickening

Finally, I topped with mixed berries and a bit of honey and Cory and I both devoured our breakfast!

Served

Served

Empty Bowls

OAT BRAN WITH MIXED BERRIES
Serves 2
Adapted from A Pinch of Yum

Ingredients

2/3 cup oats
2/3 cup bran cereal
2 cups water
1/4 cup egg whites
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon light brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
Fresh berries, for topping (I used strawberries, raspberries, and blackberries)
Honey, to taste

Directions

In a stock pot, Bring oats, bran cereal and water to a boil over high heat. Boil until most of the water is evaporated (approximately 3 minutes).

Add egg whites, brown sugar, salt, and cinnamon. Mix immediately and continue to mix until a thick consistency is reached.

Divide oatmeal into two bowls. Top with honey and fruit to taste.
THE REVIEW

This recipe is almost too easy! Everything that is involved in the recipe is always in my cabinet (minus the bran cereal, but I bought a giant box, so we’re cool now!). The brown sugar and fruit added enough sweetness to the oatmeal, that the honey wasn’t even necessary for my taste.

I’m looking forward to getting out of bed tomorrow and making some oats for breakfast!

Thanks to this recipe, I no longer think of old people when eating oat bran. I think of rainbows, unicorns, and all things beautiful.

VIRTUAL VEGAN POTLUCK

I’m participating in a virtual vegan potluck soon, check it out! I’m making some kind of dessert, I’m just not sure what yet! 🙂

Virtual Vegan Potluck

;

9 thoughts on “Oat Bran with Berries

  1. Pingback: Vegan Slow-Cooked Oatmeal | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

