Zucchini-Red Potato Risotto

Risotto is becoming my new favorite meal. It’s relatively fast to make, and pretty simple. A little of this, a little of that, botta-bing, botta-boom. You’re done.

I love this recipe because you can alter it pretty much anyway you want. Change up the cheese, the add-ins, the type of onions, just go crazy!

To start off, I diced 2 large red potatoes.

Red PotatoThen, I cut up two zucchinis. The pieces were about the same size as the potato pieces (approximately 1 inch).

Zucchini

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I then mixed them all together with some olive oil, salt, and pepper.

Mix

Then, I spread them out into a lightly greased 11X13 glass dish and baked them for 25 minutes at 400F.

Roasting Veggies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the meantime, I brought some mock chicken broth to a boil, then reduced the heat to low to keep it warm.

BrothThen, I sauteed some onions and garlic in a little oil.

Sauteed Onions and Garlic

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I added 2 cups of rice and cooked it for just a few minutes to heat it.

Hot Rice

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I then added a little water to get the rice to start absorbing liquids.

Rice with Water

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While the water evaporated, I poured the warm broth into a glass measuring cups, 2 cups at a time since that’s the largest measuring cup I have.

BrothThen, I added the broth to the rice, about a cup at a time. I continuously stirred until the broth was evaporated, then added some more until all the broth was gone.

Pouring Broth

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I transferred the tender rice to a large stock pot and mixed in my cheese of the week (I like to buy different cheeses every week! This time, it was blueberry Swiss!) I mixed until it was creamy and the cheese was completely melted. I also added some butter, chili powder and nutmeg.

Mixing CheeseFinally, I added the cooked potatoes and zucchini and ate a giant serving!

Final Mix

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My mouth is watering just thinking about it!

Zucchini-Red Potato RissotoFinally, I devoured the entire bowl and then my roommate had some too!

Empty Bowl

THE RECIPE ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE

Ingredients

2 large red potatoes, diced into 1 inch pieces
2 zucchinis, diced into 1 inch pieces
1/2 white onion, diced
3 Tablespoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
4 cups vegetable broth, or mock chicken soup base
2 cups water, divided
2 Tablespoons garlic, minced
2 cups uncooked long-grain rice
2 Tablespoons Butter
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 cup grated cheese (your choice!) (I used Blueberry Swiss because it’s what I had at the time)

Directions

Preheat oven to 400F.

In a large bowl, combine zucchini and red potatoes, 2 tablespoons oil, salt, and pepper.

Bake in a lightly greased 13X11 glass baking pan for approximately 25 minutes, stirring once.

Meanwhile, in a large saucepan or stockpot, heat soup base and 1 cup water. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low to keep warm.

On medium-high heat, heat 1 Tablespoon oil in a large skillet. Saute onion and garlic until onion is translucent.

Add rice and cook for 2-3 minutes, stirring continuously.

Reduce heat to medium, stir in 1 cup water. Cook and stir until liquid is absorbed.

Transfer broth to a large glass measuring cup and add to rice mixture 1/2 cup-1 cup at a time, stirring constantly. Allow liquid to absorb between each broth addition.

Continue to add liquid until mixture is creamy and rice is almost tender. This should take about 20 minutes.

After all the broth has been used, transfer mixture to a large stock pot if you feel like you’re running out of room. Keep on low heat.

Mix in cheese, butter, chili powder, and nutmeg. Stir until butter and cheese are melted.

Add zucchini and red potato until mixed throughout.

Remove from heat and serve.

Serve

THE REVIEW

Like I said, a little of this, a little of that, and you have a great meal! The leftovers are in abundance, so I of course love that!

The nutmeg makes the mixture sweet, while the red potatoes give it a real savory flavor and the zucchini gave the mixture a unique flavor and gave the entire dish a nice balance.

With rice, potatoes, and zucchini, this dish is very hearty and the leftovers can last for at least a week.

What’s your favorite risotto mix-ins?

5 thoughts on “Zucchini-Red Potato Risotto

  1. Wow. I do love some risotto, but haven’t tried since I cut dairy most days. But it IS spring and it’s time to get some good garden risotto going…. Looks like it’s time to recipe test. Thanks for the inspiration! And to date, my personal faves are squash or asparagus.

Leave a Reply

