Bankok Peanut Cookies

These cookies have become my “Nashville Cookies.” When I was on a sweets fast during Lent, I went to visit Cory and his coworkers at BMI and felt some sweets were in order. I baked these cookies (without eating any) and they were a hit in his office!

I made them again last week to take on our MEISA networking trip to Nashville. I ate them, this time!

And finally, they’re inspired by my favorite ice cream flavor at Jeni’s (which I first had in Nashville)!

First, I creamed together brown sugar, butter, and peanut butter.

Brown Sugar

I creamed the ingredients together until everything was combined and it was nice brown color.

Beaters

I then mixed in vanilla, an egg, and applesauce.

Vanilla

In a smaller bowl, I sifted together flour, baking soda, and the ingredient that really makes these cookies: cayenne pepper.

Cayenne Pepper

I merged the two bowls to make the perfect, fluffy peanut butter dough we all love.

Merge

I then mixed in some unsweetened coconut to add a little texture. I placed Tablespoon-sized balls of dough on an ungreased cookie sheet. I pressed the dough down using the bottom of a glass and flattened it to be about 1/2 an inch thick.

Cup Press

Using a fork, I made the classic crisscross pattern found on most peanut butter cookies.

Pressed Cookies

I baked the cookies for 8 minutes at 375F, until the bottoms were beginning to brown.

Brown Cookies

I immediately sprinkled them with the tiniest bit of Cayenne Pepper to add a little more kick.

Sprinkled with Cayenne

They’re great served warm with almond milk!

Gooey Cookies

THE REVIEW

These cookies are gooey, soft, and a little spicy. The coconut adds a great texture to the soft cookies and the cayenne leaves a nice spicy after taste. For those of you who are struck with the “eat one sweet thing, end on a salty note,” these cookies are great!

They’re sweet and savory, filling and fluffy. They’re a great twist on a classic cookie and will win over a crowd of people, my MEISA friends, for example!

BANGKOK PEANUT COOKIES ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE
Yields 30 Cookies
Inspired by Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home and The Healthy College Cookbook

Ingredients

3/4 cups packed brown sugar
3/4 cups creamy peanut butter
4 Tablespoons butter, softened
1/4 cup applesauce
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1-1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

Directions

Preheat oven to 375F.

In a large bowl, cream together brown sugar, peanut butter, and butter. Stir in applesauce, vanilla, and the egg until creamy.

In a small bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, and cayenne pepper.

Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Mix thoroughly until flour is incorporated throughout.

Fold in coconut.

Using your hands, form balls with approximately 1 Tablespoon of dough and place on the baking sheet. Using the bottom of a drinking glass, flatten the dough to about 1/2 an inch thick.

Using a fork, press the dough twice to make the classic crisscross pattern.

Cook for 8 minutes, until bottoms of the cookies are lightly browned.

Immediately top with a pinch of cayenne pepper.

Bangkok Peanut Cookies

 

2 thoughts on “Bankok Peanut Cookies

Leave a Reply

