Raw Cookies

Raw Cookies…but wait-aren’t cookies loaded with unhealthy things that I’m avoiding for Lent? Like tons of sugars?!

Nope! These are raw cookies, packed with natural sugars from fruits!

RAW COOKIES ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE
Adapted from Oh, She Glows

Ingredients

6 medjool dates, pitted and chopped
1/4 cup raw almonds
1 Tablespoon flax seeds
1 Tablespoon sunflower seeds
5 dried apricots, chopped
1 Tablespoon honey (Agave Nectar for my vegan friends!)
5 pumpkin seeds, shelled and minced
Pinch of sea salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

In a food processor, process almonds and dates until both nuts and dates are ground up. Remove mixture from processor and place in a medium sized mixing bowl.

Add the rest of the ingredients and begin to work the “dough” with your hands.

When the seeds, nuts, honey, and spices are fully combined into one solid ball take a Tablespoon of “dough,” roll into a ball, then flatten with your hands, thus making cookies.

Store cookies at room temperature or refrigerate them.

Raw CookieTHE REVIEW

I’ve finally found the cure for my sweet tooth! This recipe combines all of the foods I’ve been eating during Lent into one tiny cookie. They’re the perfect size to satisfy my sugar cravings after dinner.

This is the first time I’ve worked with dates. I have to say I am a satisfied customer! The dates act as a paste for the cookies (along with the honey) and sweeten things up a bit. The apricots are the most dominate flavor, followed by the almonds. They’re great for packing in a lunch, too!

For all my exercising friends, try one before or after your workout to give you a boost of energy, some protein, and fiber!

LENT UPDATE

Did I mention I’m obsessed with grapefruit? I ate one for breakfast and one for lunch because they’re just that good.

Why has it taken me so long to discover these fabulous fruits?!

7 thoughts on “Raw Cookies

  1. Pingback: Tamale Shepherd’s Pie | The Hearty Herbivore

  2. Pingback: Fabulous Friday | The Hearty Herbivore

  3. Pingback: I’d Like To Thank The Academy. | theHungryIrishman

Leave a Reply

