African Groundnut Stew

African Groundnut StewStews and soups are some of my favorite dishes to make because of the large quantity of leftovers. Soup is easy for me to take in a lunch, and easy for me to heat up on a busy night of studying. Therefore, I’m always looking for new and unique soup recipes.

Cory was recording a live studio session with a new organization in Bloomington called Second Kitchen Collective on Saturday, so I thought we would just make a day out of it and bring some soup to thank them for all of their hard work and dedication to improving the Bloomington Area Music Scene. Unfortunately, one of the people there was allergic to peanuts, so not everyone got to indulge in this savory stew, but everyone who did really enjoyed it!

I came across this recipe in one of my new favorite cookbooks, The Healthy College Cookbook. The book is full of healthy, simple recipes that are easy on my wallet and filling for my stomach!

AFRICAN GROUNDNUT STEW ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE
Adapted from The Healthy College Cookbook

Cooking StewIngredients

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
1/2 white onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch cubes
1 cup rice
3 (15 oz) cans vegetable broth
1/3 cup creamy peanut butter
1 (15 oz) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 (16 oz) jar hot salsa
1 zucchini, diced
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon oregano
salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

Heat oil in a stockpot over medium heat. Add the onion, garlic, and sweet potatoes and saute for 6 minutes, until the sweet potatoes are beginning to get tender. Add 1/4 cup water, then saute for 2 more minutes.

Add rice and vegetable broth to the stockpot. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to low. Cover and let cook for 25 minutes, or until rice is tender.

Add peanut butter, chickpeas, salsa, zucchini, cumin, oregano, and salt and pepper. Cover and cook over low heat until zucchini is tender (about 30 minutes).

Liza at Second KitchenTHE REVIEW

I’m going to be completely honest: this soup is kind of out of season. With sweet potatoesand zucchini, it’s a bit of a fall soup, but nonetheless, it’s delicious and I’m in love.

Everyone over at Second Kitchen Collective (minus Nelson-who is allergic to peanuts) enjoyed it, too! They loved the spicy broth and the sweet potatoes. I personally loved the slight nutty flavor paired with the perfectly cooked potatoes. You can cook the soup until the zucchini is soft, or until it is tender. I chose tender because I like a little crunch in my soup without adding crackers.

LENT UPDATE

I’ve been trucking through this last week of Lent, not a care in the world. I have been looking at recipes for sweets to make after Lent, but every time I look at the recipes, I feel like I’m looking at something dirty since I haven’t had sweets in so long.

I’ve been eating a lot of nuts lately. After making those Cherry-Cranberry granola bars, I have a lot of walnuts and almonds left in my cupboard. I’ve been nomming on those a lot, along with dried fruit!

Second Kitchen CollectiveCheck out all the great sessions at 2nd Kitchen Collective, and if you’re a musician in the area, get to know those fine people!

Follow me on Twitter, won’t you? @HeartyHerbivore

7 thoughts on “African Groundnut Stew

  1. Pingback: Fabulous Friday | The Hearty Herbivore

  2. Pingback: Vegan Southwest Sweet Potato Soup | The Hearty Herbivore

  3. Pingback: Happy 100th! | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

