Fruit Cereal

Big Fruit BowlGrowing up, I was obsessed with two cereals: Frank’n’Berry and Fruity Pebbles. I still love both the cereals, but they’re packed with so much sugar, that I decided to start making my own cereal for breakfast!

THE BIG FRUIT CEREAL BOWL ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE
Adapted from The Healthy College Cookbook
Yields 2 servings

Ingredients

1/2 cup traditional oats
1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
1/4 cup plain yogurt
1 Tablespoon Flax seeds
1/4 cup orange juice
1 red apple, cored and chopped
1/4 cup blueberries
1/4 cup Raspberries
1 banana, sliced
1/2 cup almonds, sliced

Directions

in a small bowl, mix together oats, almond milk, yogurt, and flax seeds. Let soak for 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, work on chopping your fruit. Combine fruit and nuts in a small bowl.

After oats have soaked for 5 minutes, add orange juice and mix thoroughly. Divide liquid and oats evenly into two cereal bowls, making sure you get plenty of oats in each.

Top each bowl with the fruit and nuts mix.

Serve cold.Cereal Bowl

THE REVIEW

I love eating a big bowl of fruit and oats for breakfast. When I was in high school, I was obsessed with oatmeal, and now I’m playing with new ways of using oats. Don’t limit yourself to the fruit I’ve used here, either. I do recommend using apples, though. The apples give it a nice crunchy texture.

The berries with the plain yogurt make the cereal tart, but then the banana flavor shines through and sweetens the bowl up.

You may also consider adding a Tablespoon of honey when you add the orange juice to sweeten.

Cory tried the cereal bowl this morning and said “I really like this! It’s good-and it’s healthy!” Yes it is, Cory, yes it is.

LENT UPDATE

It’s the final week of my sugar/sweets-free days! The clocks a-ticking. I’m not really sure that I’ll be that into sweets after this, but I am planning on making Carrot Cake Cheesecake for Easter Sunday! Yum!

4 thoughts on “Fruit Cereal

  1. I’ve been having a lot of yum with raw and or overnight oats combinations lately too. Never would have thought about cold oatmeal as being so satisfying, but add a little of this, a little of that and before you know it… Delish.

  2. Pingback: Fabulous Friday | The Hearty Herbivore

  3. Pingback: Overnight Berry Oatmeal Parfait | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

