Curried Potatoes

Curried PotatoesI don’t believe there is a way to make brown, mushy potatoes look eye-pleasing. Or if there is, I have yet to discover it. There is a way, however, to make them taste amazing!

Back in August, my sister bought me “The Healthy College Cookbook” for my birthday and forgot to give it to me. Since then, she’s been dining on her favorite recipe from the book, baked ziti, and I’ve been anxiously awaiting my birthday present.

Finally, right before Spring Break, I got the cookbook! Happy Half Birthday to me (since it was around my half birthday)! The funny thing about this is, I wasn’t even that into cooking in August. She must have been able to tell that I was going to be super into cooking.

I’ve already tried several recipes from this cookbook, but so far this is my favorite! These potatoes are an easy side for any burger or sandwich! They’re salty and sweet, and of course-hearty.

Sliced PotatoesCURRIED POTATOES ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE
Altered from The Healthy College Cookbook
Yields 1 large serving

Ingredients

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
1 Large potato, peeled and sliced
1 tablespoon curry powder
1 inch piece ginger, grated
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1/4 cup water
2 Tablespoons Soy Sauce
Salt, to taste

Directions

Curried Potatoes cookingIn a large skillet, heat olive oil. Add potato slices and cook, stirring and flipping often until browned, about 15 minutes. The potatoes should be brown around the edges and beginning to brown in the middles.

Add curry powder, ginger, and turmeric, stirring to thoroughly incorporate. Cook for one minute.

The pan will begin to dry out. When it does, add water and soy sauce. Cook potatoes for another 5 minutes, until tender and most of the liquid has evaporated.

Add salt to taste, if necessary.

THE REVIEW

Mmmmmmm. Besides the fact that this recipe is everything I love about potatoes- sweet, spicy, and a bit of an Indian flavor- this recipe is my becoming my go to potato recipe because it’s so easy and fast! I served these spuds with my Indian Bean Burgers.

The water adds a creamy finish to the potatoes, while the soy sauce thickens that creamy finish. Although the original recipe calls for onions, I think this recipe is perfect with just potatoes. If you’re looking to make a meal out of them, try making them with an assortment of veggies- onions, peppers, and broccoli sounds ideal to me!

Curried Potatoes FinishedLENT UPDATE 34/46

I went to the grocery store yesterday and bought so much fruit! I’ve been devouring oranges and apples, and have now added bananas, blueberries, and raspberries to my menus. I’m absolutely loving it!

While I can see the light at the end of the tunnel and am totally planning to make a pie for Easter dinner at my parents’ house, I have a feeling that I’ll be changing my eating habits after Lent ends. I’ve noticed that I’m thinking more about what I eat and when I eat it, as opposed to mindlessly scarfing down a box of Girl Scout cookies while I watch television.

 

 

Maybe after Easter, I’ll start nomming on grapes instead of cookies while I obsess over my new obsession- “How I Met Your Mother.”

Dig in,

Jamie

5 thoughts on “Curried Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Fabulous Friday | The Hearty Herbivore

  2. Pingback: African Groundnut Stew | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

