Spinach Noodles with Garlicky Tomato Sauce

Spinach Pasta with Garlicky Tomato SauceMaking homemade noodles is something that I’ve been dying to do lately. So, I went for it! I love a good flat noodle, especially when it involves spinach, so on Monday night, I thought “what better way to start my week than by making these fabulous, hearty noodles?”

SPINACH NOODLES
Altered from Pasta Recipes Made Easy

Ingredients

1-15oz package Frozen spinach, thawed
1 egg
2 heaping cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt

Cooked SpinachDirections

Line a frying pan with water. Add spinach and cook down until completely thawed and broken up.

Drain excess water, then move spinach to a food processor. Pulse until a course puree forms.

Add flour to a large bowl and shape into a bowl-shape (Or just use a clean workspace, rather than a bowl). Carefully add the egg to the middle of the flour bowl, being careful not to destroy the shells.

Cover the egg with salt.

Fill each egg shell half with the spinach. Add spinach to flour bowl.

Using a fork, whisk together the egg, salt, and spinach without destroying the flour bowl. Some flour will be added to the egg mixture, and that’s fine.

Egg and FlourOnce the egg is fully mixed with the spinach and salt, thin out the walls of the flour bowl using your hands and begin to kneed the liquid mixture with the flour until a dough begins to form. If the dough isn’t coming together after two minutes or so, try adding some water, a Tablespoon at a time.

Once the dough is a nice green color, roll into a ball. On a clean work surface, flatten and roll out the dough with a rolling pin. The dough should be about 1 mm thick.

Using a pizza cutter, cut the dough into strips and place on a cooling rack. Repeat until all the dough is cut, then allow to sit for 45 minutes, or until the noodles begin to dry.

When the noodles are dry, cook in boiling water for approximately 8 minutes, or until Al dente.

Serve topped with tomato sauce (see below for my own recipe!)

TOMATO SAUCE

Ingredients

3 cloves of garlic, minced
2-6oz cans of tomato sauce
1-15 oz can of petite diced tomatoes
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 Tablespoon oregano
Pinch of sugar

Directions

On medium heat, heat olive oil in a large sauce pan. When heated, add minced garlic and brown for approximately 5 minutes. The longer it cooks, the stronger the flavor will be.

Add tomato sauce and diced tomatoes and mix until oil is thoroughly incorporated.

Stir in oregano and sugar. Cover. Reduce heat to low, allow to simmer for approximately 30 minutes.

THE REVIEW

This pasta is very filling! The spinach flavor isn’t too strong, so if you’re not a big fan of spinach, definitely look into trying this recipe. I, on the other hand, really enjoy spinach, so I’m thinking next time I’ll add a little more (maybe fill the eggs again).

My mom gave me a recipe for some tomato sauce that had onions and a bit more sugar, which inspired me to create this sauce recipe. I didn’t have any onions, and was looking for some texture, so I added the petite diced tomatoes in order to add a little chunk. The garlic is definitely potent (this was only my second time using garlic I minced myself-I’m going to start doing this more often!) and mixed with the olive oil and sugar, it was a perfect mix of sweet and savory.

I cooked the entire batch of pasta, but they dry out rather quickly. Therefore, I boil the noodles each time I eat them, otherwise they’d be a bit too dry for my taste.

LENT UPDATE: 29/46

I truly cannot believe that Easter is just around the corner! This no sweets thing is becoming a habit, and I’m okay with that! I think my taste buds are beginning to change-or maybe my mind is just adjusting to wanting fruit instead of candy-which I’m also okay with.

Now that it’s spring, there’s even more fruit in my grocery store! I bought some strawberries, oranges, and apples this week and have almost devoured all of them.

Some things I’ve been eating this week:

Green Monster Smoothies (Only after I feel like I’ve had a really good workout)
Strawberries
Oranges
Apples
Fruit Cereal Bowls (Recipe to come)
Indian Burgers (Recipe to come)

I’m going to a sneak preview of American Reunion tonight! Jason Biggs and Sean William Scott will be there!

In the mean time, I’ll be laughing really hard about this:

Hunger Games

Hope you’re all having a great week!

6 thoughts on “Spinach Noodles with Garlicky Tomato Sauce

  1. This is great. I lived next to an Italian family for a time when I was young. Every Sunday they would spend the entire day making pasta for the week and that is such a fond memory of mine. Funny to think now because of that I always thought making pasta would take an entire day.

    The way you describe it here makes it seem quite doable. Thanks, Jamie!

  2. Pingback: Indian Bean Burgers | The Hearty Herbivore

  3. Pingback: Fabulous Friday! | The Hearty Herbivore

  4. Pingback: 15 minute creamy tomato pasta | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

