Jerk Seasoned “Hobo Pack”

Jerk Hobo PackI love spicy. I really do.

So today, I decided to whip up some jerk seasoned potatoes with roasted vegetables to go alongside my Lentil Sloppy Joe leftovers.

I cooked them in rolled up foil, which Cory calls a Hobo Pack, so now we have:

JERK SEASONED HOBO PACK

I think I make my hobo packs a little differently than Cory does, because I leave mine open a little at the top, so the vegetables have a little crisp to them.

This is a great, healthy side dish that adds a little spicy to your life. I used Yukon gold potatoes, but I imagine this would go great with red, or any type of potatoes really.

THE RECIPE ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE

Jerk SeasoningIngredients
(Yields: 1 large serving)

2 small Yukon Gold Potatoes, chopped
1 stalk celery, chopped
3 green onions, chopped
1/2 red pepper, chopped
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 Tablespoon Jerk Seasoning
Cheddar Cheese, to top (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 400F.

Add potatoes, celery, green onions, and red pepper to a small bowl with a lid.

Drizzle olive oil over vegetables and add Jerk seasoning.

Place lid on bowl, and shake until Jerk seasoning and olive oil has covered the vegetables.

Mixed VeggiesPour mixture onto a piece of foil, about the size of a baking sheet. Roll in the sides of the foil, partially covering the vegetables, but leaving about a 2 x 2 inch opening at the top.

Place hobo pack on a baking sheet. Bake for 40-45 minutes, until vegetables are tender.

After removing the hobo pack from the oven, sprinkle cheddar cheese on top (if you so please) and allow to melt (1-2 minutes). Unroll hobo pack, transfer to plate, and serve immediately.

 

Hobo PackTHE REVIEW

Oh, boy. The mixture was spicy, but still had a great flavor. With the red peppers, there were a lot of good flavors floating around. The celery added a nice crunch and the potatoes were nice and crispy on the outside, but tender on the inside.

I loved this. It’s simple and relatively quick, but doesn’t require a close eye, so I got some work done while I waited for my lunch. Plus, my parents brought me back some jerk seasoning from their cruise and I finally found a use for it!

I’m really into potatoes lately, and would love to make some potato burritos when I get back from Spring Break.

15/46

Today was a great day! I’ve been making something sweet (more to come on this) for my sister’s birthday, but haven’t even been tempted to indulge, which I think is a great accomplishment. However, I have come to conclude that baking is much more fun when you can try what your making.

Breakfast
1 piece of toast
Eggs (with rosemary, peppers, and spinach)

Lunch
Lentil Sloppy Joes (hopefully a recipe soon!)
Jerk Hobo Pack

Snack
1 orange

Dinner
Taco Pasta

IU won today! YAY! Great way to start Spring Break!

Dig in,

Jamie

2 thoughts on “Jerk Seasoned “Hobo Pack”

  1. Pingback: Indian Bean Burgers | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

