Cherry Granola

Cherry-Cranberry Almond GranolaI’m getting tired of eating eggs and toast for breakfast.

Luckily, I found this great granola recipe and managed to scrape together all the ingredients, and no added sugar!

CHERRY-CRANBERRY ALMOND GRANOLA ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE
Altered from Oh, Ladycakes

Just Black Cherry JuiceIngredients

12 Tablespoons Black Cherry Juice
1/4 cup Honey (or more, or less) (Agave Nectar for my vegan friends!)
1 teaspoon unsulphured molasses
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 teaspoons pure almond extract
2 tablespoons soy cream
4 cups traditional oats
1/2 cup flax seeds
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
1 cup sliced almonds
1 cup dried cranberries

Directions

Preheat oven to 325F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper. Set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk together cherry juice, honey, molasses, vanilla, almond extract, and cream. Set aside.

In a large bowl. stir together oats, flax seeds, salt, coconut, and almonds.

Mixing GranolaSlowly add the cherry mixture to the oat mixture, stirring to incorporate throughout. Break up any large clumps with a spoon.

Spread granola in a thin layer over baking sheet (you may need more than one baking sheet, I did!).

Bake for approximately 20 minutes, then stir and flip granola. Break up any large chunks that may have formed.

Bake for 10 more minutes.

Remove from oven and toss with cherries using a brown paper bag.

The Review

VanillaThis was perfect for my new breakfast! It’s fruity and sweet without having any added sugar! Serve with some unsweetened almond milk, and you’re all set! I’d love to try them in bar form, too. I’ll have to look into some granola bar recipes and see what I can do!

Be careful when you’re cooking the granola for the last 10-15 minutes. When it starts to brown, you can take it out. It burns easily, but doesn’t really show signs of being burnt.

I used “Just Black Cherry Juice” for this recipe, which contains nothing but black cherry juice, thus, the name. I also used yummy vanilla that my parents brought back to me, along with an assortment of other spices, from their cruise this winter!

If you didn’t know, I really love oatmeal. My sophomore/junior year of high school that’s pretty much all I ate. So now, I always have a stockpile of instant oatmeal as well as traditional oats. This weekend, I’m planning on experimenting with some homemade oatmeal recipes, including this one. I just seriously love breakfast! It’s my must have meal of the day!

5/40

I think I should actually say 5/46, since Lent is actually 46 days long and allows for non-fasting days on Sundays. I’m not allowing myself any non-fasting days, though! I’ve got to stick with this no sugar thing!

I’ve been doing great! I went shopping yesterday afternoon and got a lot of fruit to pack in my lunches when I’m on campus all day. I also stocked up on ingredients for Green Monster Smoothies, which are really my one sweet thing of the day besides fruit.

I had an early Breakfast:
Green Monster Smoothie
Orange Juice
Bowl of Cherry-Cranberry Granola

A late lunch:
Butternut Squash Risotto (it’s finally gone, and I already miss it!)
1 banana

And an even later dinner:
Eggplant-Chickpea Curry with rice (more on this to come!)

Granola Storage

I think my favorite part of not eating added-sugar is that I’m only drinking water (and my one glass of orange juice a day). I haven’t drank soda pop regularly for a long time, but now I’m even more turned off to it, along with any other fruity, sugary drink.

And now it’s already 11:30. I need some sleep! I have a busy week ahead of me. Keep an eye on the BITEBloomington Blog as well as the Bloomington Area Music blog! I should be posting things soon!

What’s your favorite breakfast food?

Dig in,

Jamie

8 thoughts on “Cherry Granola

  1. Nice, I’ve been considering making my own granola because I’m allergic to nuts and most packaged brands either have almonds and such in them or are processed on the same cooking surfaces. It’s nice to see that it’s actually pretty easy to do!

  2. Pingback: Grilled Peaches Jazebel | The Hearty Herbivore

  3. Pingback: Taco Pasta | The Hearty Herbivore

  4. Pingback: Cherry-Cranberry Granola Bars | The Hearty Herbivore

  5. Pingback: Fruit Cereal | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

