Peanut Butter Surprise! Cookies (aka Abraham Lincoln Cookies)

Peanut Butter Surprise Cookies

Peanut Butter Surprise

As you may have seen from my Facebook page, I’ve been on sugar overload all week. This is because Lent is quickly approaching (it’s Wednesday!!) and I’ve decided to give up added sugar for 40 days and 40 nights! Whew. This could be tough!

After following Iowa Girl Eats during her Sugar Free Jebuary, I’ve decided that it’s a good idea to challenge myself to give up those sweets that I love all too much. That’s right everyone, no sweets for Jamie. I’ll still be eating things with sugar in them, like Green Monster Smoothies (my variation of this recipe), Fruits, etc. Just limiting my sweet intake. I feel like after I eat sweets, I’m always immediately regretful and feel kind of sluggish and even hungrier.

So here we are, on Sunday…3 days until Ash Wednesday. My parents came yesterday and we went to Sweet Grass restaurant. It was pretty fabulous, but a post on that to come! My parents brought me so many goodies! Fiber One bars (these are my favorite breakfast on the go treat), Girl Scout Cookies (Samoas and Savannah Smiles!), farm fresh eggs (I miss these so much!) and a fresh package of contacts (thank God, I’d be blind without them!). So it’s time to get going on those Girl Scout Cookies, I have to get rid of them by Wednesday!

Some of my friends over at Bloomington Area Music hosted a Cookies and Music Party, so I figured I’d go out with a sugary bang before Lent begins! Thanks to Sweet Pea’s Kitchen, I had the perfect recipe!

CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER SURPRISE COOKIES

These little guys were pretty simple to make and didn’t require too much time! They reminded me of the buckeyes my mom used to make at Christmas time, but a lot simpler and a little less messy!

THE RECIPE ACCORDING TO SWEET PEA’S KITCHEN

Chocolate Dough

Chocolate Dough

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup granulated sugar (plus more for rolling)*
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup creamy peanut butter, divided*
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 egg
3/4 cup powdered sugar*

Directions

Preheat oven to 375º F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside.*

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In the bowl of a standing mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together sugars, butter, and 1/4 cup of peanut butter until light and fluffy. Add the vanilla and egg, beating to combine. Stir in the flour mixture and stir to combine, blending well. Set aside.*

Peanut Butter Filling

Peanut Butter Filling, or the Surprise!

In a medium bowl, mix together powdered sugar and remaining 3/4 cup of peanut butter until smooth.*

Pull off a heaping tablespoon of cookie dough and flatten with your hands. Take about 1 teaspoon peanut butter mixture and place it in the center of the chocolate dough. wrap the chocolate dough around the peanut butter center, pressing to seal. Roll the cookie into a ball and roll the cookie in the sugar. Place cookies on the prepared baking sheet, 2 inches apart. Using the bottom of a class, flatten each cookie to about 1/2 inch thickness.*

Bake in preheated oven for 7 to 9 minutes. Let stand on the baking sheet for 2 minutes, then remove to a wire rack.*

THE RECIPE ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE

Ingredients

*For the rolling sugar, I used a small cereal bowl and poured about 1/2 cup of sugar into the bowl. So for this purpose, let’s say 1 cup of sugar for the entire recipe.

*So.Much.Peanut.Butter. I’m in love. I would cut the peanut butter and powdered sugar in half, because I had a lot of leftover peanut butter mixture! So, I’d do 1/4 cup in the dough still. But I’d probably do 1/2 cup of peanut butter in the mixture and 1/2 cup powdered sugar. Make sense?

Directions

*This recipe made about two dozen cookies, so I lined two cookie sheets with parchment paper.

Step by Step

How I made my cookies...

*This recipe was super confusing to me at first, because there is peanut butter in both the cookie dough and the peanut butter filling. The peanut butter, vanilla, sugar, etc is the “dough!” It turns chocolatey when you add the flour/cocoa mixture.

*I didn’t make any of my cookies the way Sweet Pea did, and that’s primarily because I didn’t read the directions correctly. In retrospect, I wish I would have done it her way. What I did was flatten a tablespoonish of dough, put a teaspoonish of peanut butter on top, then put another flattened tablespoonish of dough on top, making a nice little sandwich. I then sealed the edges, and rolled the whole thing into a nice little ball, or rather a nice big ball. This process made rather large cookies, which I was totally okay with. Like I said earlier, SUGAR OVERLOAD.

*You better let these guys cool, for real! They’re hot!

 

Abraham Lincoln Cookies

Abe Lincoln loves The Hearty Herbivore, it's a fact.

BEST PART OF THE RECIPE

So we got to this cookie party, and someone had almost the same cookie as me. There’s were a bit bigger and in cupcake tins. They were like the reverse of mine (peanut butter cookie filled with chocolate…and marshmallow!) It was a surprise, indeed! They had already filled out a card and labeled the cookies “peanut butter surprise,” so my roommate and I thought of a new name for mine…Abraham Lincoln cookies. What better name for a great cookie?

Dig in,

Jamie

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Surprise! Cookies (aka Abraham Lincoln Cookies)

  1. Pingback: Brady’s hail mary sandwich « livindolcevita

  2. Pingback: Bankok Peanut Cookies | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

