Feast (Bloomington, Indiana)

Sweets

"Hello Customer! We're Feast's Sweets!"

Like most of my food stories begin, this one starts with Cory and me. One Saturday last September, Cory and I took a morning run to the Bloomington Farmer’s Market. This is something I have always wanted to do, and Cory was pretty excited about it as well.

Once we got there, we were engulfed in a sea of fresh produce, colorful flowers, street performers, and the smell of brunch. After weaving through the isles and pulling ourselves away from all the delicious looking fruits and veggies, we made our way to the food stands. It was so long ago that I don’t even remember what I had, but Cory had a tamale from a booth called Feast. He was pretty impressed, even though it wasn’t the Delta Tamales he grew up with.

Fast forward to Friday, February 10. After a long day of work, Cory picked me up and we traveled to the south side of Bloomington to grab a Valentine’s Day feast at…

FEAST.

Located on Hillside Drive in Bloomington, this restaurant is somewhat off the beaten path, away from the bar scene of Kirkwood Avenue and the ritzy restaurants on the Square. Though Feast specializes in the catering business, they don’t shy away from providing great customer service seven days a week at their restaurant.

THE ATMOSPHERE

Walking into Feast, you are greeted by a very temptations setup of sweets. The space is small and intimate with a very organic feel to the decor. Behind the cooler full of sweet treats is a coffee bar with a large selection of drinks, ranging from iced coffee to lattes to signature drinks.

This small venue offers a large menu. Although Feast’s specialty is their tamales (like the one Cory got at the Farmer’s Market), they have plenty of other optionss (friendly to herbivores, carnivores, and omnivores). The menu changes seasonally, giving you a reason to go back and try something new every season!

The service was very friendly! On our way out, we passed a group of customers waiting to be seated. The host informed the customers that they would be waiting approximately 10-20 minutes and was so kind that the customers were completely fine with waiting. I’m sure it wasn’t too much a problem waiting for something as delicious as my Focaccia Melt.

Feast Samosas

APPETIZER

I absolutely love samosas. Let’s face it, I have an addiction. Anywhere I go it’s a guarantee that if there are samosas on the menu, I’m getting them! So, Cory and I splurged and got Feast Samosas! These samosas were Cory’s favorite part of the meal.

They were a nice twist on the traditional samosas. The dough was a bit heavier than traditional samosas, but the spices inside were perfect. Served with a cilantro dipping sauce, the samosas were a perfect way to start our Valentine’s Day dinner!

WHAT I GOT

Like I said, I went with the Focaccia Melt. The Focaccia Melt is either grilled artichoke hearts or grilled chicken (I obviously chose artichokes considering I don’t eat chicken and I absolutely love artichoke hearts), three Italian cheese, sun-dried tomato pesto, roasted red peppers, spinach, olives, and aioli on focaccia bread.

In most cases, you can’t go wrong with artichoke hearts. I absolutely love them. The artichoke hearts plus the roasted red peppers were a lot and somewhat covered up the taste of the cheeses, but regardless, I loved it.

My Focaccia Melt! And check out those beautiful sweet potato wedges!

I recently made rosemary focaccia, and let me just say, it was good. Now on that same note, let me just say that Feast’s focaccia was SO GOOD.

This sandwich was served with sweet potato wedges. These wedges were cooked to perfection. Cory and I just couldn’t get over it. They were served with the cilantro dipping sauced mentioned earlier, which was a nice spice to the sweet taste of the wedges.

WHAT HE GOT

After I said that my choices were between the Focaccia Melt and the Tempeh Burger, Cory decided to get whatever I didn’t get. He went with the Tempeh burger. This burger is grilled tempeh, caramelized onions, cheddar or 3 Italian cheeses, lettuce, tomato, spicy stone ground mustard, and aioli on a seeded bun.

As soon as Cory bit into the burger, his face lit up and he said, “It’s crispy!” He likes for his  burgers (whether it be a bean burger, tempeh burger, or veggie patty) to be crisp and thick, not mushy and messy.

The tempeh was seasoned perfectly to resemble a real burger. Cory said that with all the toppings, it was hard to take it all in, and he would have liked to try the burger separately from the toppings. I agree that there was a lot to take in, but sometimes I think that’s what a burger is all about.

Tempeh Burger

FINAL WORDS

I’ll definitely be heading to Feast again and hopefully soon! I was so full after eating half of my melt and half of a burger that I didn’t dare take on the delicious desserts that taunted me from the cooler.

I’d like to go back and try some tamales as well! Because I was making tamales for Cory on Saturday, I decided against getting tamales at Feast. The one that Cory had at the Farmers Market was excellent, though!

Feast has plenty of vegetarian options aside from the tempeh burger and focaccia melt! I’m dying to try the tamales as well as the butternut pappardelle.

FEAST’S STATS

Vegetarian Friendly: Yes
Vegan Friendly: Limited, omit cheese from most dishes, ask your server
Price: $

Dig in,

Jamie

2 thoughts on “Feast (Bloomington, Indiana)

  1. Feast is definitely one of my favorite new restaurants here in Bloomington. The tempeh burger is a dream. I also love love love the MLT (Mushroom, Lettuce, Tomato). Basically, you can’t go wrong with anything and everything on the menu.
    – Mimi

Leave a Reply

