Apple-Pumpkin Muffins

Apple-Pumpkin Muffin

Muffins make the world go round.

Ever since New Year’s, I’ve been super into breakfast foods.

I think it’s because I recently read some quote from a book that said “Eat breakfast like a King, lunch like a Queen, and dinner like a Pauper.” Let’s be honest though, I eat every meal like a King.

So I made these fabulous muffins for my roommate and I to nom on during the week, then got invited to a VegIU Brunch Dinner. I planned on making banana bread for the dinner, but after Icepocolypse 2012 happened, I couldn’t get to the store to buy bananas. Thus, I brought the muffins. They were a huge hit!

Apple-Pumpkin Muffins
Yields 12 muffins
Altered from The Veganomicon

THE RECIPE ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE

INGREDIENTS

3/4 cup almond milk (or any non-dairy milk)*
1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1 cup unsweetened applesauce*
1/2 cup pumpkin puree*
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1-1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cups old fashioned oats
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
Generous pinch pumpkin pie spice*
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 small green apple, cored and chopped

Homogenous Mixture

No brown sugar clumps here!

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a nonstick muffin tin.

In a large bowl, whisk together almond milk and apple cider vinegar. Let sit for approximately 1 minute to curdle.

Add the apple sauce, vegetable oil, and brown sugar, and whisk until homogenous.*

In a small bowl, sift together flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt. Add to large bowl. Stir only until dry ingredients are moist.*

Fold in apple pieces, being careful not to overmix.

Spoon about 2 teaspoons of mix into each muffin cup. Bake 28 minutes.

Allow muffins to cool for 5 minutes in muffin tin before moving to cooling rack.

COMMENTS

A Tablespoon of Muffin

About this size for each muffin, times two!

INGREDIENTS ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE

*I think it’s time for a confession: almond milk is my favorite non-dairy milk, with coconut milk as a close second. Even if a recipe calls for soy milk, I always use almond.

*So for some reason, the nice Kroger in Bloomington either hides or doesn’t carry jars of applesauce. I was stuck with the little individual cups! I used 2 individuals, it was close enough to 1 cup. I went to Kroghetto this weekend and found a giant jar of applesauce. Stay classy, Kroghetto.

*Truth time: I totally went out on a limb with this pumpkin thing. I’m so glad I did! I had pumpkin puree left over from making Vegan Pumpkin Cheesecake (more on that later!) and thought, “what the heck.” So here we are, twelve delicious muffins later.

*Pumpkin pie spice is something I never use a lot of. For some reason, I’ve been on a really big pumpkin kick. This fall, I made pumpkin pie french toast, pumpkin fudge (failure), pumpkin cookies, and now pumpkin cheesecake AND pumpkin muffins. Moral of the story: I know my pumpkins. Don’t use too much pumpkin pie spice. I don’t know why, just don’t do it! There’s a lot of spice in these muffins already.

DIRECTIONS ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE

*Homogenous, eh? You like that? Ten-point word. Make sure all the brown sugar is incorporated, you don’t want to end up with a mouthful of sugar. Or maybe you do?

*Because you aren’t doing a lot of mixing with this recipe, there may still be loose flour in the mixture. That’s fine. These muffins are meant to be on the chunky side, so you don’t want to have a runny batter.

Muffin Army

Fill the cups almost all the way full.

THE REVIEW

Like I said before, I went out on a limb with adding pumpkin to these. At first I thought, “Oats, apples, and pumpkin…that seems like a lot.” But the good news is, it’s not! The most powerful flavor is definitely the pumpkin. The oats add texture and the applesauce mostly serves as an egg substitute. To get that apple flavor though, I added the apple chunks. They dried out a little in the cooking process, which was nice because these muffins were very moist. The dry apple pieces gave it a good balance.

Here’s something funny about these muffins: I didn’t even eat one for breakfast. I ate one at the brunch I went to, and one for dessert one night. The rest went to friends and VegIU’s dinner. I’ll make them again and hoard them for breakfast food.

THE BEST PART OF THE RECIPE

I got to share these muffins with my friends! I’ve learned that cooking isn’t as fun if you can’t share it with people you love, so why not spread the love by giving muffins?!

Apple-Pumpkin Muffins!

Dig in!

Final Note(s):

Like me on Facebook, won’t you? And follow me on Twitter!

I’m now blogging for BITEBloomington. It’s a new food blog/e-zine all about the Bloomington Area. I did my first post today about some awesome spinach pesto I made for lunch today! I’m so glad to be working for BITE and am looking forward to cooking even more!

I’m also blogging for a great music organization called Bloomington Area Music (BAM). I’ve done two articles so far, and absolutely love it. Please check out both of these great organizations, especially if you’re planning on coming to the area anytime soon.

Two things I love: music and food. My life is perfect right now!

Finally, I’ve made some changes to my About Me page. You can now read my whole life-story in a matter of minutes! I’m hoping to revamp the site as soon as I get some time and some money. I want to write my HTML, but I’m not sure where to start. Any suggestions?

What’s your favorite pumpkin recipe?

Dig in,

Jamie

6 thoughts on “Apple-Pumpkin Muffins

  1. Pingback: Happy 100th! | The Hearty Herbivore

  2. Pingback: Vegan Spicy Pumpkin Enchiladas | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

