Tangerine-Pecan Pancakes

FFA Tangerine

FFA Tangerines are the best tangerines

Something I’m proud of: I was a member of the National FFA Organization in high school. When I tell people this, they are totally shocked. They always say, “Are you really going to be a farmer?” The answer to that is no, but I am going to be a leader. 🙂 Anyway, like most chapters, as a fundraiser, we sold fruit. I’m not talking the light fruit like grapes, either. I’m talking full on fruit. Boxes upon boxes of pears, oranges, apples, grapefruit, and even tangerines! Every year we had “Fruit Day” which is basically a holiday in any rural community. An entire semi would come and all the FFA members would unload about a million boxes of this fruit…oh yeah, and the things weighed a ton.

My parents are still proud supporters of the Switzerland County FFA Chapter and this year purchased more fruit than any of us can eat, including tangerines!

As mentioned in my last post, I’m currently borrowing Veganomicon: The Ultimate Vegan Cookbook from Cory. This thing is seriously ultimate. I went to bed one night craving pancakes, so in the morning I flipped through this cookbook to find a recipe for Banana-Nut Waffles. Feeling a bit inspired, I decided to alter this recipe a little and make tangerine-pecan pancakes, since I don’t have a waffle maker.

TANGERINE-PECAN PANCAKES ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE
*Adapted from and Inspired by Veganomicon

Veganomicon's Banana Nut Waffles

The original recipe by Veganomicon

Ingredients*

1 3/4 cups coconut milk (or any non-dairy milk)
1/4 cup water
2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
2 tangerine
3 tablespoons canola oil
3 tablespoons pure maple syrup or agave syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 cup pecans, chopped finely*
Nonstick cooking spray

Directions

Pour soy milk, water, and vinegar into a large bowl and set aside.*

Peel tangerines and place in a food processor. Grind into small chunks and juice. Remove seeds.*

Add tangerines, oil, syrup, and vanilla to soy milk mixture. Stir.

Slowly combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and nutmeg using a fork.*

Fold in chopped pecans.*

Lightly spray pan with cooking spray. Pour batter onto pan, about 1/4 cup batter per pancake.

When the middle of the cake starts to bubble, flip and cook for about a minute, or until brown on both sides.*

THE HEARTY HERBIVORE’S COMMENTS

Ingredients

* I was cooking for one, so I cut all the ingredients in half. The measurements given by Veganomicon yield 14-16 waffles (in this case pancakes). Even when I cut the ingredients in half, I had plenty of pancakes, around 9.

*I used pecans from the south! Thanks, Cory’s Mom!

Pancake Batter

Still thick after mixing and folding in the pecans!

Directions

*Make sure you give the soy milk mixture time to curdle (3-5 minutes). (I know, curdles are disgusting, but they make for good cooking and it’s very common when baking vegan!)

*Tangerines don’t have too many seeds, but you want to make sure you get them all, or you’ll end up with a bitter surprise in your pancakes! You can also try this recipe with any fruit you want! The tangerine flavor in my pancakes was very subtle, and was actually more flavorful when I ate them cold later.

*Make sure you don’t overmix the batter. You want everything to be well-blended, but still want thick batter that won’t spread too much when you cook the cakes!

*When you fold in the pecans, again make sure you don’t overmix. Make sure they’re evenly distributed throughout the batter.

*It took me a while to get the hang of cooking these pancakes. I would first pour them too big and they’d run together to form a giant monster of a pancake. I suggest cooking one at a time at first, just to get used to the consistency of the batter.

Tangerine-Pecan Pancakes

Morning Sweet tooth: Satisfied.

THE REVIEW

These pancakes were pretty good! Though I doubt they were as good as the Banana-nut waffles that Veganomicon details, they were pretty simple to make and all the ingredients are usually found in a well-stocked pantry (like at my parents’ house!). The tangerine taste was very subtle, and like I said before, was more flavorful when I ate them cold later. I ate them with syrup, even through there was already syrup in them (I was craving a really sweet breakfast). The pecans were also great, but I’ll probably use more in my next batch! Overall I give the recipe a B. I went out on a limb with the tangerine-pecan combination, but it wasn’t bad! Neither took away from one another, and complimented each other nicely.

BEST PART OF THE RECIPE

I have now experimented with vegan pancakes and now I’ll be making vegan french toast over the weekend when Cory comes to visit! I game him three options: plain french toast, eggnog french toast, or gingerbread french toast, thanks to The Happy Herbivore. Which kind should I make?!

Happy cooking,

Jamie

3 thoughts on “Tangerine-Pecan Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Orange: Breakfast with A Peel « Ruined for Life: Phoenix Edition

Leave a Reply

