Cinnamon Vanilla Cupcakes with Candied Ginger

It’s been a while! Sorry about the delay! Again, it’s not that I haven’t been cooking, it’s that I haven’t been blogging. After a long week of finals, I finally came home to my parents’ house on the 15th! Cory met me here and we immediately made some awesome cupcakes!

Meanwhile, I’ve been working on spreading the word about my blog! I now have a Facebook Page and you can follow me on Twitter! Won’t you like me and follow me? 🙂

For a long time all I’ve wanted is for Cory to say “OH MY GOD, THIS IS THE BEST THING YOU’VE EVER MADE.” He says that everything I make is great and that it’s just implied, but I just want to hear it…just once. So I made these cupcakes by The Novice Chef, with my lovely assistant, Cory!

CINNAMON VANILLA CUPCAKES WITH CANDIED GINGER

Yum!

The final, gingery product.

THE RECIPE ACCORDING TO THE NOVICE CHEF

Ingredients (yield: 12 cupcakes)*

Cinnamon Scented Vanilla Cupcakes:
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon salt
a healthy pinch of allspice
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 egg
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
4 oz (1/2 cup) natural applesauce*
1 teaspoon vanilla extract*
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup buttermilk*

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting and Candied Ginger:
3 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cups confectioners’ sugar*
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup chopped candied ginger*

Directions

Cinnamon Scented Vanilla Cupcakes:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin tin with cupcake liners.

In a medium size bowl combine dry ingredients (flour, cinnamon, ginger, salt, allspice, baking powder, and baking soda). Set aside

In standing mixer, on low, mix eggs, sugar, applesauce, vanilla extract and vegetable oil.

Carefully alternate dry ingredients (flour mixture) and buttermilk, mixing until fully combined.*

Fill cupcake liners 2/4 full and bake for 15-17 minutes, rotating halfway through, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Beat it like Michael Jackson!

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting and Candied Ginger
Cream the butter and cream cheese together in a large bowl. Add the sugar, one cup at a time, beating well between each addition.*

Stir in the cinnamon and vanilla until thoroughly combined. Beat the mixture well, until light and fluffy.

Using a piping bag or a large spoon, spread a generous amount of frosting onto the top of each cupcake.

Place the chopped candied ginger in a small bowl and press each cupcakes, top down, into the candied ginger.*

ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE

Ingredients

Cinnamon Scented Vanilla Cupcakes
*I’ve learned that using applesauce makes cake moist. I used a little individual cup of applesauce, perfect for this recipe because they are each 4 ounces.

*The vanilla extract I used was from Mexico! Last year, my oldest sister, Liz, went to Mexico with her fiance and my mom requested that she get her vanilla, as she had purchased some when she and my dad went on a cruise. Liz came back with a giant bottle of vanilla straight from Mexico. My mom now has a lifetime supply.

*Instead of using buttermilk, I combined 2% milk and vinegar. Just under one cup of milk + 1 Tablespoon Vinegar or Lemon Juice=buttermilk. So in this case, I used just under 1/4 of a cup 2% milk and a teaspoon of apple cider vinegar. It’s also common to use apple cider vinegar and soy milk as a substitute for dairy products in vegan recipes. Seriously, I have the best recipe for vegan red velvet cake. I’ll share it sometime!

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting and Candied Ginger
*
I believe this recipe had some typos. It says 1 cupS (singular or plural? I’m not sure…) confectioners sugar. Mixing singulars and plurals can be quite confusing. I used 1 CUP (singular) confectioners sugar.

Candied Ginger

So much ginger!

*I forgot to look at the recipe before I went shopping, so I went ahead and bought two 6 oz. bags of candied ginger (also known as crystallized ginger). Now, I am stuck with about 8 ounces of candied ginger. I guess I’ll have to make these cupcakes again! Cory and I were pretty terrified of the ginger at first because we ate it plain…bad idea. I think we were both traumatized. It’s supposed to be good for your stomach when you have a stomach ache, though.

Directions

Cinnamon Scented Vanilla Cupcakes
*It may take a while when alternating the powdered ingredients with the buttermilk, but trust me, the time is worth it if you’re trying not to make a mess.

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting and Candied Ginger
*
Here we go again with the singulars and plurals. Again, I used 1 cup powdered sugar for this recipe, but my icing wasn’t that fluffy. It was more like frosting that you would put on sugar cookies. So maybe there is supposed to be more sugar. Once someone tries this recipe, let me know!
*Cory and I each tried the ginger by itself and it was painful. Cory said it was like eating a package of Listerine strips. So needless to say we were hesitant to cover the entire cupcake in ginger. We put a few pieces of the chopped ginger on top of the cupcakes, but after trying them I thought we could have covered the entire cupcake. It would have given it a nice spice that would have led me to not eat the entire batch (like I did).
Frosting, not Icing.

My icing was more like this...more like frosting...

THE REVIEW

These cupcakes were excellent! The vanilla taste was smooth, but when you got a little bit of the ginger, there was a nice zing to the cupcakes, but the ginger wasn’t overpowering, but complementary. The cinnamon frosting was a nice in between spice, too! My only issue with the recipe is that it only made a dozen cupcakes. I seriously could have eaten 3 dozen, so I suggest doubling up the recipe! Cory said they were great! Not the “BEST THING EVER!” I was hoping for, but he said they were really good!
BEST PART OF THE RECIPE

Cory said they were “great!” That’s a step in the right direction! Cory was also a great assistant! Good work! 🙂 I’m sure my parents are glad to have me home for a few weeks as well, since I started my break out right by making these heaven-like cupcakes!

Hoping everyone has a great Holiday! I’ll be back soon with more recipes!

Dig in,

Jamie

4 thoughts on “Cinnamon Vanilla Cupcakes with Candied Ginger

  1. This sounds and looks great, can’t wait to try it. I hope you don’t mind I shared this on my blog. I tried tagging you in it and making sure I give you credit for you wonderful recipe

  2. Pingback: Cinnamon Vanilla Cupcakes with Candied Ginger | My Blog

  3. yum, these cupcakes look so good! I’ve only recently tried candied ginger, and I have to say, I’m so sad I went this long without trying it. It’s sooo good, and I can only imagine how awesome it is in cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

