THE Soup (and spreading Christmas cheer!)

It’s that time of year. The time when teachers pile papers on top of papers, tests on top of tests, and worries on top of worries. FINALS.

It’s not that I haven’t been cooking…it’s that I haven’t been blogging! So I promise to keep your lovely faces updated with new restaurants and recipes as often as possible between now and Christmas!

Speaking of the Holidays..you’re bound to have some left-overs when your cooking. I’m not talking scraps from your plate when you give yourself too much. I’m talking about when you buy a large onion and only need 1/4th of a cup of onions. What to do with the leftovers?

Chick Peas and Black Beans are a good idea, too!

THE SOUP

This is a great idea (I don’t know if it can be considered a recipe) that Cory gave me! When he told me about it, I was really weary. I mean the possibilities of left-overs are endless and what about when they’re all combined?

I was wrong! I admit it.

DIRECTIONS

Place any left-over ingredients (vegetables, beans, rice, broth, fruit, potatoes, etc) in a medium-large sized tupperware.

Freeze after each addition. Keep the tupperware going for about a month (or until it’s full).

The day before you want to eat the soup, thaw in the refrigerator over night. Put the soup in a large pot over medium-high heat until completely thawed.

Depending on the consistency (it varies) add some form of liquid to thin out the soup. Sometimes even a can of beans will do the trick!

Add desired spices to taste.

Cover and cook over low heat for approximately 30 minutes.

MY BATCH

My batch had a Mexican flavor! I used:

Refried Beans
Cheesy rice
Ro-Tel
Sweet Potatoes
Tomatoes

I added a can of Chili Beans to loosen up the mix and make it more soup-like.

I also added chili powder, garlic powder, and cayenne pepper! Talk about spicy!

The Newest Batch of The Soup!

The newest batch of The Soup!

THE REVIEW

This recipe is great for anyone who finds themselves with a lot of leftovers that would otherwise go bad. It’s also great for portion control (which I am terrible at!). Say you cook a sweet potato and only want to eat half. Cook the entire thing, then cut off the part you don’t want and add it to the soup!

It’s also great because you’ll always have something to look forward to at the end of the month! This month, I started with green beans!

BEST PART OF THE RECIPE

Cory gave me the idea and he got to try my first batch!

It’s also different every time, so it’s kind of like getting a happy meal toy, only you don’t get the same one every time you go to McDonald’s. So I guess it’s nothing like that…

My Favorite Part of the Holidays:

Elf Yourself!

Merry Christmas from The Hearty Herbivore and CTC Recommends!

Dig in,

Jamie

2 thoughts on “THE Soup (and spreading Christmas cheer!)

Leave a Reply

