Black Bean Burgers for Summer Nostalgia

Beyond Brilliant Bean Burgers

It’s getting to be winter here in Bloomington, Indiana. That means I have a few things to look forward to. Going home for Thanksgiving and Christmas, for example. However, the cons definitely outweigh the pros. This back and forth weather (it was 70 degrees last Wednesday and snowing the next day…not flurrying...snowing) is making my sinuses act up (check out the Black Bean Soup for the cure!). It’s getting harder and harder to wake up in the morning and walk to class, and further more, ice is coming…I can feel it.

I wish it was summer…

Let’s pretend we’re at a cookout, featuring BEAN BURGERS.

I’m going to change things up and just do my recipe for the burgers, adapted from The Kitchen Sink. My comments follow each section. You’ll catch on. I thought this may be easier to read the recipe and my comments at the same time!

Yield: 4-5 burgers

INGREDIENTS

1 (14-oz) can chickpeas, rinsed and drained*
1 (14-oz) can black beans, rinsed and drained*
3-1/2 tablespoons plain greek yogurt
1/3 cup Italian dry bread crumbs
1 teaspoon cumin
2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika
generous pinch of salt
1/4 cup finely chopped cilantro*
1 lime
vegetable oil

They'll start to brown when they're crisp!

ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE…

*The Kitchen Sink actually calls for 2 cans of black beans. I thought I’d mix things up and make them half chickpea-half black bean burgers!
*I love to spice things up! I used more than 1/4 of a cup of cilantro…probably more like a 1/2 cup…which is a lot, but I do love cilantro.
*Vegan note: Make these burgers with vegan yogurt! I would have, but I can never find plain vegan yogurt! Usually I only come up with strawberry or blueberry flavored. Suggestions? Help a sister out?

DIRECTIONS

Pulse chickpeas in a food processor with yogurt, bread crumbs, cumin, oregano, cayenne, paprika, and salt until a coarse puree forms.*

Transfer to a bowl and stir in cilantro black beans. Add as much juice from the lime as needed to create a mixture that holds together well.*

Form mixture into patties.*

Heat oil in a 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat. Cook burgers until outsides are crisp and lightly browned, turning once, about five minutes total.

ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE…

*My food processor problems. I couldn’t get all the chickpeas ground up nicely. So, I transferred the entire mixture to a mixing bowl and used a hand mixer. Perfected!

*The first time I made these, I used the entire lime and they didn’t crisp as well when I cooked them. The second time, I used maybe 1/3 of the lime and they crisp really nicely now! It’s your preference.

*Make them small enough and you can probably crank out 5-6 patties. These are pretty filling, too. So don’t worry if they’re small!

THE REVIEW

Cory and I have been saying we were going to make bean burgers for the past 2 years. Luckily, I found this awesome recipe! It’s easy and rather quick! Add avocado for a smooth taste.

And really, who could resist this face?

The cilantro flavor doesn’t make the burgers spicy, just gives it a good taste that’s more than beans! I’m glad I went with chickpeas and black beans, too. I feel like two cans of black beans would have been too much of one flavor.

I also fed my friend Cody! He liked them too! Check out his blog for some encouraging words!

BEST PART OF THE RECIPE

I seriously felt like I was eating a burger at a Memorial Day picnic. Sigh. I need to live in a place where it’s summer all the time.

Dig in,

Jamie

3 thoughts on “Black Bean Burgers for Summer Nostalgia

  1. This recipe looks great! My problem with bean burgers is that they either dry out or don’t hold together. I’ll try this one. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Indian Bean Burgers | The Hearty Herbivore

  3. Pingback: Happy 100th! | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

