“F” is for Fudge…and Failure

This cooking/food blog is a learning experience, I want to go ahead and say that before you judge me. I’ve never made fudge by myself. I’ll let you know where I think I went wrong, though, in hopes that your fudge will turn out better than mine.

I had a leftover can of pumpkin puree from my Pumpkin Butterscotch Cookies. What to use it on?

PUMPKIN FUDGE

This recipe tasted awesome, I went wrong with the texture. I think I had an issue with the marshmallow creme. The fudge turned into a dip…for all of our Halloween candy. YUM.

That's Pumpkin Puree...not Pumpkin Pringles Man...

THE RECIPE ACCORDING TO CATHY

Ingredients

2 tablespoons butter
2-1/2 cups white sugar
2/3 cup evaporated milk
1 cup white chocolate chips
7 ounces marshmallow creme*
3/4 cup canned pumpkin
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

Line a 9×9 inch pan with aluminum foil, and set aside.*

In a 3 quart saucepan, heat milk and sugar over medium heat. Bring to boil, stirring occasionally with a wooden spoon.

Mix in pumpkin puree and cinnamon; bring back to a boil. Stir in marshamllow creme and butter.* Bring to a rolling boil. Cook, stirring occasionally for 18 minutes.*

Remove from heat, and add white chocolate chips and vanilla. Stir until creamy and all chips are melted. Pour into prepared pan. Cool, remove from pan, and cut into squares. Store in a cool, dry place.*

THE RECIPE ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE

Ingredients

*I also had some left over marshmallow creme from my S’mores Ice Cream Cake. Score! There’s usually a good deal on them at Kroger. 10 for $10 is the best deal ever! (I only bought 2, by the way…in retrospect, maybe I should have bought ten…)

Pumpkin Goop.

Directions

*I used a pie pan, because for whatever reason, we don’t have normal sized pans. Luckily, my roommates Mom just brought us casserole dishes! Hooray!

* I think my recipe went wrong when I stirred in the butter and marshmallow creme. It was already boiling when I put it in, so I think it was too hot and therefore the marshmallow creme didn’t set well.

*I also don’t think that the mixture cooked for 18 minutes…make sure you cook it for at least 18 minutes!

*So we let this sit for about 2 hours and it was still like a dip. It was almost a viscous fluid (between a solid and a fluid). I put it in the freezer to see if it would help…no such luck. I took it out the next day and it was still dip-like. But boy, did it taste awesome.

THE REVIEW

We took the “fudge failure dip” to the Homecoming Tailgate and dipped my Peanut Butter Bark in it! Talk about a sugar coma. It was so great, though. The taste of the fudge is perfect, like pumpkin pie, minus the crust. If anyone cooks this correctly, PLEASE tell me what I did wrong, because I would LOVE to have some great fudge.

BEST PART OF THE RECIPE

I now know that I need to try again on the whole fudge thing…
Dig in,

Jamie

5 thoughts on ““F” is for Fudge…and Failure

  1. Pingback: Apple-Pumpkin Muffins « The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

