Halloween (or Anytime) Easy Candy Bark

So let’s be honest…I have a terrible sweet tooth. My downfall: anything peanut butter and chocolate. Thankfully, there’s No Wrong Way To Eat a Reese’s.

I’m following a lot of great blogs and came across The Cooking Bride. She had some GREAT Halloween recipes. Yeah, yeah. Halloween is over. But really? Who cares! I love Halloween, I love candy.

Did I mention Cory and I were Zombie JFK and Marilyn Monroe?

CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER BARK

Seriously, this took about 50 minutes of prep time, 40 of which were the bark sitting in the freezer. I made it for our now annual Pumpkin Carving Party, where we ate, carved pumpkins, and dressed up as Zombies. Leftovers? Take it tailgating…but be careful! It melts!

CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER BARK ACCORDING TO THE COOKING BRIDE:

Ingedients:

12 ounces milk chocolate*
12 ounces white chocolate*
1 teaspoon vegetable oil
4 oz. (about 1/2 bag) Mini Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups*
7 oz. (about 1/2 bag) Reese’s Pieces candies*
Multi-Colored sprinkles*

Directions

Line a 12×17 inch jelly roll pan (or cookie sheet) with waxed paper.*

Spread candy over pan. Flatten peanut butter cups with your fingers.*

Fill a small saucepan with about one inch of water. Fit the saucepan with a small bowl that covers the top of the pan but does not touch the bottom of the water (you could also use a double boiler).*

Bring the water to a boil over medium heat. Place the chocolate in the bowl and heat over the boiling water, stirring constantly once the chocolate begins to melt.*

Once the chocolate is melted, pour of candy mixture and spread to the edges of the pan with a spatula. Freeze for 20 minutes until chocolate is set.*

Thoroughly wash and dry your bowl and place it back over the saucepan. Bring the water in the saucepan to a boil again over medium heat. Replace the bowl over the saucepan. Add white chocolate and vegetable oil.*

Stir constantly once the chocolate begins to melt.*

Carefully spread the white chocolate over the milk chocolate layer. Decorate with sprinkles.*

Place pan back in the freezer and freeze until white chocolate layer is hardened – approximately 20 minutes. *

Remove bark from pan. Peel back the waxed paper and break park into pieces.*

ACCORDING THE HEARTY HERBIVORE:

Reese's Salad! Yum!

Ingredients

*For the 12 ounces of milk chocolate, I used a bag of milk chocolate chips.

*For the 12 ounces of white chocolate, I used a bag of white chocolate chips.

*I love Reese’s Cups…I used an entire 10.5 oz bag of mini Reese’s. 🙂 I also went with the pre-unwrapped cups, to save some time.

*I also love Reese’s Pieces. I used and entire 10.5 oz bag of these little babies as well.

*I didn’t have any sprinkles, but they seem to make things more festive. Am I right?

Directions

*I used a cookie sheet. What’s a jelly roll pan? I’m new at this…

*Flattening Reese’s cups is fun! It kind of hurt my thumb some in the end, though. I now have the thumbs of a superhero.

*For whatever reason, we don’t own small metal bowls, only small plastic mixing bowls. So I just melted the chocolate in a small, non-stick pan.

*Because I didn’t use a double boiler, I made sure to keep the chocolate moving the entire time it was melting. Otherwise, it would have burned. Burnt chocolate=Sad Herbivore.

*Surprisingly, the chocolate hardened really fast. It maybe took 20 minutes. I wouldn’t let it go much longer because it will be hard to break in the end.

*I’m not really sure why we had vegetable oil, but I did it anyway and it melted to perfection!

*Again, stir the chocolate constantly (from beginning to end) if you’re not using a double boiler.

*No sprinkles for Jamie, but make sure you add them before you freeze the chocolate, so they stick!

*Again, don’t freeze the chocolate too long. I accidentally forgot about it and let it freeze for probably 35 minutes.  (Meanwhile…I was gutting my pumpkin.) The chocolate was hard to break because it was really hard.

*Like I said, breaking the chocolate is kind of hard and it gets sharp! You may consider wearing gloves!

My Pumpkin (The Pumpkin King!)

THE REVIEW

This candy was a huge hit at our party! It broke into big pieces, so everyone got a pretty large portion. If you love Reese’s, you’ll love this recipe. Hershey’s also has York Pieces, I bet this recipe would be great with smashed york peppermint patties and York Pieces. Maybe in the winter!

BEST PART OF THE RECIPE

I got to see my sister this weekend when she came for IU’s Homecoming game! She was tailgating with all of her friends, so I took them left overs! They LOVED it. Everyone now knows how great of a little sister I am.

Dig in,

Jamie

6 thoughts on “Halloween (or Anytime) Easy Candy Bark

  1. In addition to being a great little sister you are a great daughter who could make this for a mother who will be in recovery mode for awhile.
    P.S. Did you master Google Reader for your blogs.

Leave a Reply

