Pumpkin Butterscotch Cookies of Epicness

The Final Masterpiece

I’ve been super into pumpkin things this fall. Usually, the only time I eat anything pumpkin is at Thanksgiving when my Mom makes pumpkin pie. A few weeks back I made pumpkin pie french toast, which was pretty awesome, but not everything I hoped and dreamed. I wanted something pumpkin-pie-esque, but not a pie. There was no way I was waiting until November 24th to get my fill of pumpkin but luckily…

THE WAIT IS OVER!

PUMPKIN BUTTERSCOTCH COOKIES

I had a leftover can of pumpkin puree (from the pumpkin pie french toast) and had no idea what to do with it. Luckily, my roommate loves AllRecipes.Com and showed me the ingredient-recipe calculator. SO AWESOME. I just typed “pumpkin puree” into the ingredients list and a giant list of awesome fall recipes showed up.

THE RECIPE ACCORDING TO M.J.

Ingredients*

1/2 cup shortening*
1 cup sugar
1 cup pumpkin puree*
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1-1/2 cups butterscotch chips*

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease cookie sheets.

In a medium bowl, cream the shortening and sugar.* Stir in the pumpkin and vanilla

Sift together the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon; stir into the creamed mixture.*

Mix in the butterscotch chips. Drop dough by teaspoonfuls onto the prepared cookie sheets.*

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes. Allow cookies to cool for a minute on cookie sheets before transferring to wire cooling racks*

Pretty as a Pumpkin

THE RECIPE ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE

Ingedients

*I made these cookies for a meeting/a friends birthday/my roommate and I, so I needed A LOT. I doubled everything. It made about 70 cookies, which was PLENTY. I don’t think I used all 4 cups of flour, primarily because I was making a mess. I probably used about 3-3/4 cups. They turned out fine, the dough was just a bit sticky because of it. But because the dough was sticky, the cookies were SO GOOEY. Perfection.

*I used coconut oil (at room temperature) as my shortening. I had some left over from making vegan raspberry lemon cupcakes (I’ll try to find this recipe for you soon), so what better time to use it?

*I of course used Libby’s Pumpkin Puree (it’s 100% pumpkin!)

*Instead of doubling the butterscotch chips, I just used the entire bag. If you don’t double the recipe, I would still recommend using the entire bag…why? Because I love butterscotch chips.

Directions

*When I “creamed” the shortening and sugar together, it didn’t really cream. It more clumped. This could be because Coconut Oil at room temperature is a solid and comes out of the container is small clumps. It wasn’t a big deal, though. Coconut oil melts if it’s above 70 degrees, so it melted throughout the cookies when I put them in the oven.

*I recommend stirring in the powder ingredients slowly and in batches. I was using the biggest bowl we had and flour was flying everywhere. If you do it in batches, it’s also not as hard to stir. My arm got a workout because the dough was so thick.

*I used two spoons to put the dough on the cookie sheets. Otherwise, it’s a sticky mess. You’ll have to scrape the dough off the spoons to get it onto the cookie sheet.

*I baked the cookies for 8 minutes and I didn’t allow them to cool. I was too excited! They came off the sheet easily and they were delicious right out of the oven. Pair the cookies with milk for the perfect dessert.

Sticky Dough makes for Great Cookies

The Review

One Word: Stupendous. These cookies were everything I’d hoped and dreamed. They stayed soft throughout the week that I had them in an air-locked container and the butterscotch was a great complement to the pumpkin, but you could also make the cookies without butterscotch chips (see my vegan note below).

Best Part of the Recipe

These cookies were so easy! It took me maybe 10 minutes to mix everything together and throw them in the oven. Another great thing: my pumpkin craving is now satisfied!

Vegan?

I don’t know of any vegan butterscotch chips, I’ve looked online but the only ones I could find were store brand from local stores on the east coast. Try Price Chopper. I say: Skip out on the butterscotch chips. Toward the end of my dough, there were no butterscotch chips left in the bowl, so I just made pumpkin cookies. They were just as gooey and just as good.

 

Dig in,

Jamie

9 thoughts on “Pumpkin Butterscotch Cookies of Epicness

  1. Pingback: Apple-Pumpkin Muffins « The Hearty Herbivore

  2. Pingback: Vegan Spicy Pumpkin Enchiladas | The Hearty Herbivore

  3. Reblogged this on Rand McKitchen and commented:
    It’s Fall and pumpkins and gourds are everywhere. All I’ve been thinking about are these cookies introduced to me by my friend Jamie over at The Hearty Herbivore. They are those ‘best of both worlds’ kind of cookies, the kind you don’t think of making, but when you hear about them they sound delicious. And they are. So good, so easy to make. Do it.

  4. Pingback: From “The Hearty Herbivore” – Pumpkin Butterscotch Cookies of Epicness | Rand McKitchen

  5. Pingback: Fave Fall Treat: Pumpkin Butterscotch Cookies | Rand McKitchen

Leave a Reply

