Give Me S’more Ice Cream Cake

Happy Birthday, Cory!

It was a very busy weekend at The Burrow! My wonderful boyfriend came to visit for his birthday and this of course, called for a celebration!

Here’s the issue: while I was trying to think of a cake to make for his surprise party, I could only think of cakes I like (all of them) and not the ones Cory likes. I browsed cake recipes on the Food Network website and decided on Ice Cream Cake! But what kind? I wanted something unique, not just plain vanilla ice cream with icing. What to do? Time for a Martha Stewart moment, or as Tim Gunn would say, a “make it work moment.”

S’MORES COFFEE AND FUDGE ICE CREAM CAKE!

This cake was an ordeal and I made it in a time crunch. Homemade graham cracker crust AND broiling ice cream. Total chaos.

THE RECIPE ACCORDING TO EPICURIOUS.

INGREDIENTS

16 whole graham crackers
1 cup whole almonds, toasted*
3 tablespoons sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
1-1/2 quarts coffee ice cream (softened until spreadable)*
Large jar of Hot Fudge Ice Cream Topping*
17-ounce jar marshmallow creme*
2 cups mini marshmallows*

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350°F. Finely grind graham crackers, toasted almonds, and sugar into food processor.*

Add 1/2 cup melted butter and process mixture until moist crumbs form.

Press graham cracker mixture onto bottom and up sides of 9-inch-diameter spring form pan with 2-3/4-inch-high sides.*

Bake crust until edges are golden (about 12 minutes). Cool crust completely.*

Spread 2 cups softened ice cream in crust.* Spoon 3/4 cup cooled Fudge sauce over* Freeze until sauce is just set (about 10 minutes).*

Refrigerate or freeze remaining ice cream as necessary.

Repeat layering with 2 cups ice cream, then 3/4 cup hot fudge. Freeze until sauce is set.

Spread remaining 2 cups ice cream over. Cover and freeze cake overnight.*

Refrigerate remaining fudge sauce.

THE NEXT DAY

Final Layer of Ice Cream

Preheat boiler. Warm remaining fudge sauce in small saucepan over low heat.*

Remove from heat. Place cake in pan on baking sheet.*

Spread marshmallow creme over top of cake. Sprinkle mini marshmallows over in single layer.* Broil until marshmallows are deep brown, watching closely to avoid burning.*

Run knife between pan sides and cake to loosen. Remove pan sides.* Serve immediately with warm fudge sauce.*

ACCORDING TO THE HEARTY HERBIVORE

INGREDIENTS

*Toasted Almonds-I’ve never toasted almonds in my life and as I said earlier, I was under some time constraints. I put the almonds on the small toaster oven baking sheet, sprinkled some sugar on them, and put them in the toaster oven for maybe 5 minutes. I’m not sure if it worked, but the crust tasted fine.

*Ice Cream, Fudge Sauce, Marshmallow Creme, and Miniature Marshmallows-You can’t have too much of a good thing. I didn’t measure any of these ingredients. I just eyed everything. I went with the small can of fudge sauce and was immediately regretful, I didn’t get to do the warm layer of fudge on top because I ran out. 😦

DIRECTIONS

*Making the crust-Putting all these the ingredients for the crust in the food processor was a disaster. We have a pretty old processor and it couldn’t handle all of the ingredients at once. If you have a small processor, do this step in batches.

*We don’t own any spring-form pans, although I wish we did. I used a pie pan, It worked fine, but I don’t think the cake was as deep as it would have been with the spring-form pan.

Swirly Mess

*I cannot express to you the importance of cooling the crust completely. Since I was in a hurry, I didn’t let it cool all the way. My first layer was a big coffee-fudge-swirled mess.

*I didn’t measure the ice cream or fudge sauce. I just spooned what seemed necessary onto the crust. Use your best judgement.

*Freezing until the fudge sauce is set is also important. YOU WILL END UP WITH A SWIRLY MESS IF YOU DON’T. There’s nothing wrong with having a swirly mess, it’s just that the cake won’t be as pretty.

*When I covered the cake for freezing, I used plastic wrap. Unfortunately, some of the ice cream and hot fudge stuck to the plastic, which left indentations in the cake, etc. If you have some kind of cake cover or a lid for your pan, that would probably work best. Foil may work as well.

*Like I said earlier, I ran out of hot fudge sauce (sad day).  I also didn’t place the cake on a baking sheet, I just put the pan directly on the oven rack. In retrospect, I wish I would have put the pan on a baking sheet to prevent the ice cream from melting.

*Go crazy with the marshmallows. I didn’t measure anything. I used the whole jar of marshmallow creme and just dumped miniature marshmallows on top. It was delicious.

*My marshmallows burned. 😦 It was okay, though! This made it taste like a real s’more. So if you burn your marshmallows, don’t worry, it’s still excellent. And hey, you’ve accomplished making an ICE CREAM CAKE! Who cares if the marshmallows are burned?

*Like I said, I ran out of fudge sauce, so instead of pouring the warmed fudge sauce on top, I poured chocolate syrup on top. YUM.

*Finally, I served the cake right out of the pan. When we were finished, I just put the leftovers back in the freezer. I didn’t cover the cake, which was a bad decision. The leftovers tasted kind of freezer-burned.

THE REVIEW

For Cory’s birthday, we had a surprise party. Everyone knew about the cake, except Cory that is, and they were super excited about it. As far as I know, the cake lived up to their expectations. Was it worth all the work? I’d say so. I mean, for one, people were super impressed by my new found cooking abilities. And for two, Cory liked it!

BEST PART OF THE RECIPE

Enjoy!

I think I can officially call myself the Martha Stewart Type. I also topped the cake with candles for Cory’s birthday. Unfortunately, we couldn’t find a lighter, so we pretended he blew them out. The next day, we found a book of matches a cabinet. Oops.

Expect a few more posts this week including a review of a Bloomington staple and a few more dinner recipes, including some vegan treats!

Dig in,

Jamie


5 thoughts on “Give Me S’more Ice Cream Cake

  1. This one had a lot of asterisks-ha, ha! Toaster oven comment made me think of Sonya;) I’ll put springform pan on your Christmas list.

  2. Ohh wow I am sooo gonna make this! Sounds amazing with all the hot fudge, maybe I could throw some peanut butter in there…

Leave a Reply

