Chocolate Cookies (more like Brownies?)

I’ve recently become addicted to Pinterest! On Saturday, I was explaining this addiction to my good friend Maranda and pulled up the website. The first thing that caught Maranda’s eye were these beauties.

Cookies like Soldiers

That’s right everyone: COOKIES THAT LOOK LIKE BROWNIES AND TASTE LIKE HEAVEN. I immediately turned to my best friend Google and found a recipe.

The Rundown according to Divine Baking

Ingredients:
Nonstick Spray
1 1/2 Cups Bittersweet Chocolate Chips
3 large egg whites, room temperature*
2 1/2 Cups powdered sugar, divided
1/2 Cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tablespoon cornstarch*
1/4 teaspoon salt

 

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray 2 large baking sheets with nonstick spray.

Melt 1 cup chocolate chips in a glass bowl in the microwave, stirring twice, about 2 minutes.*

Using electric mixer*, beat whites in large bowl until they begin to peak. Gradually beat in 1 cup of powdered sugar. Continue beating until mixture resembles marshmallow creme.

Whisk 1 cup powdered sugar, cocoa, cornstarch, and salt in a bowl.

On a low speed*, beat dry ingredients into meringue.*

Stir in melted chocolate and 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Dough will become very stiff.*

Place 1/2 cup powdered sugar in bowl. Roll 1 tablespoon dough into ball; roll in sugar, coating thickly. Place on baking sheet, repeat and space dough 2 inches apart.

Bake until the puffs crack, about 10 minutes.Cool on a cooling rack*

According to The Hearty Herbivore

*Eggs Whites-Can I just say that all my baking skills were put to the test when I made these cookies? 1. I separated eggs using nothing but the shells. I didn’t even have to watch a YouTube video! Also, I used homegrown eggs from my family’s farm. YUM!

*Cornstarch-I seriously traveled all over Bloomington to find Cornstarch. There’s a CVS a block away from my house. That was the first place I went. They had chocolate chips, cocoa powder, oysters, black beans, Lima beans, 3 brands of white vinegar, apple cider vinegar, but NO CORNSTARCH. Really, CVS? I went to Kroger.

*Melting chocolate chips- I don’t own a glass dish. I melted the chocolate on the stove, it took about a minute and I just left it there to warm while I made the rest of the mix.

*Electric Mixer- My roommate and I have a very old standing mixer. I’m afraid of it, just like I’m afraid of the garbage disposal. I should overcome that fear because I used the hand mixer and my arm was TIRED. I probably spent 15 minutes trying to get this mixture to meringue. USE A SLOW SPEED. My hand mixer was on the lowest speed and powdered sugar was flying EVERYWHERE. It was a hot mess.

*THIS DOUGH WILL BECOME REALLY HARD TO STIR. DEAL WITH IT.

*Cooling rack? Who needs it? These cookies are best when they come out of the oven. They may burn your tongue, you may cry, but in the end it’s worth it.

The Review

So I thought I was kind of over the whole cookie thing. I have been really into cakes/cupcakes lately and had low expectations for these cookies, especially after all the work I put into meringuing.

I ADMIT I WAS WRONG!

As soon as they burnt my tongue, I knew my life was complete. I ate one right out of the oven. They’re gooey, they’re delicious, they’re the best cookies ever. I even took some to the neighbors. The text I received 2 minutes later:

“Jamie those cookies were heavenly, thank you again!”

The Bad News

The cookies are best right out of the oven. The next day they’re kind of like day-old brownies. I’m not really complaining, though. I’m still eating them. If anyone can find a way to keep them fresh-out of the oven tasting, PLEASE TELL ME.

Best Part of the Recipe

I’m in with the neighbors. We have a pretty nice food exchange going on right now, except my roommate benefits from it more than I do. They’re omnivores.

Dig in,

Jamie

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Cookies (more like Brownies?)

Leave a Reply

