Spicy Black Bean Soup: The Cure for Sinus Problems

Hi Fellow Foodies!

Growing up near the Ohio River and currently living in an area with an extremely high pollen count, I’ve learned to just deal with having sinus issues. This weekend my mom sent me a recipe for Spicy Black Bean Soup. Thanks to The Novice Chef, my sinuses are now cured!

My roommate (Julia) and I have been talking about how it’s getting to be soup weather. We’ve really wanted some good black bean soup, but couldn’t decide on what kind to make. So thanks for settling that one, Mom.

WARNING: THIS RECIPE MAKES A TON OF SOUP

Usually, we like to cook once a week and eat left-overs for the rest of the week. It saves us some time and money. You know how being a college student is. This soup will probably feed us all winter. I filled two giant tupperware containers with the left-overs. We are currently eating one. We decided to freeze the other and save for when our sinuses need some assistance.

The Recipe According to The Novice Chef

Ingredients

3 tablespoons olive oil
2 large white onions, chopped
4 large jalapenos, minced*
1 large shallot, minced*
5 garlic cloves, minced*
2 1/2 tablespoons cumin
2 tablespoons chili powder
2 teaspoons white pepper*
2 teaspoons dried oregano
6 (14.5 oz) cans low sodium black beans (4 cans drained & rinsed, 2 cans with liquid)
6 cups water, plus 3 tablespoons of Better than Bouillon Vegetarian No Chicken Base*

Directions

In a large heavy bottomed stock pot, over medium high heat, add olive oil, onions, jalapeno, shallot and garlic.Sauté until translucent.

Add spices and mix until well combined. Cook for 3 minutes more.

Add beans and broth (water + better than bouillon), bring to a simmer. Simmer until soup has thickened slightly, about 40-45 minutes.

Using an immersion blender (or using the transfer 1 cup at a time to a blender method and back to the pot method), blend about half of the soup until smooth.*

Serve with a scoop of sour cream, green onions, and maybe even a grilled cheese!

Alterations according to The Hearty Herbivore

*I used already sliced jalapenos. I couldn’t seem to find any good produce at the local Kroger that day, so I just decided to go with the jar of jalapenos we keep in the fridge at all times. I didn’t do much measuring for the jalapenos, either. I just kind of added them until I thought there was a good onion to jalapeno ratio.

*Again, there was a small selection of produce at Kroger. I couldn’t find a shallot (I’d never even heard of them until reading this recipe, so I wasn’t surprised). I just left it out and added some extra garlic.

For more cool stuff, check out Destroy Nate Allen!

*Garlic Cloves? Now what college student really has time to mince garlic? Luckily, my roommate is Italian and her mother gave us a giant jar of minced garlic…unfortunately, it’s starting to run low. I just added 1 overly full spoonful and 1 regular spoonful.

*White Pepper isn’t as cheap as I’d like it to be. I used black pepper…and a lot at that. I accidentally added 2 TABLESPOONS instead of 2 TEASPOONS. Whoever invented those words wasn’t thinking straight. At a glance, they look way too similar. Fortunately, Julia and I couldn’t tell the difference.

*I used a fake chicken base that my roommate had. It tasted perfect, but I made a mess using it.

*Blending 1/2 the soup is NECESSARY. Otherwise, the consistency of the soup is too watery and it doesn’t sit well together. When you blend a portion of the soup, it thickens it up a little and it’s easier to get a good bean/vegetable to broth ratio with each bite.

The Review

This soup was so spicy, which was a-okay with me. I’ve always loved spicy food with a lot of flavor. I love the flavor of black beans and I thought the spices complimented that flavor very nicely. Things that made it spicy: the overload of black pepper plus my favorite spice: cumin. Did I mention we bought the majority of our spices at Aldi? Sweet deal.

As soon as the first spoonful touched my tongue, my sinuses cleared. It was like snorting wasabi. After about half the bowl, it got too spicy, even for me. I added a dollop of sour cream and some of my favorite tortilla chips.

Best Part of the Recipe:

I got to use my new Destroy Nate Allen oven mitt that Cory got me as a house-warming gift! (Take a look at the picture above to soak in the beauty of it.) It came in handy while transferring the soup to a food processor. It even matches my polka-dot apron!

Dig in,

Jamie

4 thoughts on “Spicy Black Bean Soup: The Cure for Sinus Problems

  1. Pingback: Black Bean Burgers for Summer Nostalgia « Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

