Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams (Nashville, TN)

I’m starting this marvelous food adventure with my roommate’s favorite food: ice cream! Having known her for two years and growing up in a family full of sweet teeth, I’ve been to my share of ice cream joints. Hartzell’s Homemade Ice Cream in my college town of Bloomington, Indiana , Gaeter’s, a Cincinnati staple, and The Pied Piper Creamery in Nashville, Tennessee are a few of my favorites. I’ve even bought Doggie Ice Cream for my puppies!

Doggie Ice Cream from Schwan's!

This weekend, while visiting my food-loving boyfriend in Nashville, we stumbled upon Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream.

THE ATMOSPHERE

Located in East Nashville, Jeni’s sits on the corner of the Walden complex on Eastland Avenue. It’s bright, modern interior pulls customers in where they are greeted with friendly service. Cory and I spent a lot of time looking at the bright array of ice cream flavors, sampled a few, and asked the opinions of the employees (we’re pretty indecisive). I couldn’t decide on just one flavor, but luckily, Jeni’s has solved that problem. If you are torn between two ice creams (or even 6!) you can get a 1/2 scoop of two flavors, which equals 1 scoop!

WHAT I GOT

After sampling Goat Cheese with Red Cherries and Lemon & Blueberries Frozen Yogurt, I decided on a 1/2 scoop Bangkok Peanut and 1/2 scoop Cherry Lambic Sorbet in a homemade waffle cone. These may seem like astrange combination, but the kick of spice in the peanut ice cream combined with the light, tart flavor of the cherries is exquisite! The waffle cone was to die for. It was freshly baked, doughy, and perfect.

WHAT HE GOT

Cory's mustache loves ice cream!

Cory wasn’t about to miss out on free samples either. He sampled the Sweet Corn and a few others. Cory settled on 1/2 a scoop of Brambleberry Crisp and 1/2 a scoop of Black Currant Frozen Yogurt in a sugar cone. His choices were more obviously complimentary of one another, but it was no way boring. The vanilla bean ice cream surrounding the black raspberries and Brambleberry jam was so perfect you could see the hint of vanilla beans in the ice cream. As you can see, Cory and his mustache loved it.

GOOD NEWS

Unfortunately, Jeni’s is only located in Ohio and Tennesee. There is a good news though! You can order Jeni’s online! You can shop by flavor and collection, and even buy gift cards. I may have to get my hands on Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home.

I will definitely be returning to Jeni’s when I’m in Nashville. One of my favorite restaurants in located right next door! So all my vegetarian/vegan/curious friends, go grab a bite to eat at The Wild Cow and end on a sweet note at Jeni’s.

Jeni’s Stats:
Vegetarian Friendly: Yes
Vegan Friendly: No
Price: $

Dig in,

Jamie

6 thoughts on “Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams (Nashville, TN)

  1. I’m jealous you have a store so close by! We only have grocery stores that carry a limited selection; I’d love to visit one of the stores and sample all the flavors some day. Road trip!

  2. Pingback: Let’s play get to know me! | The Hearty Herbivore

  3. Pingback: The Wild Cow (Nashville, TN) | The Hearty Herbivore

Leave a Reply

